Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Rectangular Screen Tube Televisions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 03-03-2016, 06:11 PM
VideoKarma Member

1993 & 1987 GoldStar CRT swap?

I have two 13" color Goldstar TV sets, one from 1987 and another from 1993. I only care for the one from 1987 that had knob tuners while the 1993 just has buttons. I have to throw or give out some of my TV's due to space, that being said I want to throw out the 1993 Goldstar but I want to know if it is possible to take the CRT from the 1993 and put it into the 1987.I am very new to the idea of working on a CRT in general so I don't know if it will work or if It is just a plain bad idea. The tubes in both of them are OK but the 1987's screen is a lot lighter grey from use while the 1993's screen is still a dark grey. I don't know whether which one will last longer, which can outperform the other, or if it's even worth it.
Old 03-03-2016, 06:14 PM
Administrator

The one is probably darker gray because it had a tinted faceplate, I've never heard of a tube changing color from use. The darker one will probably have better blacks and contrast.

I would just look at the socket, if it looks the same and the mounting is the same it'd be worth a shot to try it.

You may be able to Google the CRT numbers and find the specs and pinout to compare also.
Old 03-03-2016, 11:10 PM
VideoKarma Member

The one in the '87 was probably that color when new. I've found that these 13" tubes are usually reliable and as long as it makes a bright, sharp picture with good greyscale, I'd leave it alone.