Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Rectangular Screen Tube Televisions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 10-06-2017, 04:21 PM
LADR's Avatar
LADR LADR is offline
LOCAL AND DX RADIO
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavGoodlin View Post
Does that have the octal "service" receptacle on the back. There was 4-5 pins you could check vitals from, AGC, B+, ground oscillator AFC and something else.
Yes it does. I just pulled the chassis today to check tubes and components. The brite and contrast controls are rusted shut so i got alot to do. Oh yeah, this set is completely dead.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-06-2017, 04:43 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 8,921
Try some penetrating oil (like PB baster) on the shafts.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-07-2017, 06:22 AM
LADR's Avatar
LADR LADR is offline
LOCAL AND DX RADIO
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electronic M View Post
Try some penetrating oil (like PB baster) on the shafts.
Do you think WD-40 will work?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-07-2017, 09:31 AM
Tom9589 Tom9589 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 98
You could try WD-40 first, but PB Blaster will be more effective. I personally like Kroil from Kano Laboratories out of TN. It's a very effective penetrant. Kroil doesn't smell as strongly as PB Blaster.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-07-2017, 11:23 AM
LADR's Avatar
LADR LADR is offline
LOCAL AND DX RADIO
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 65
Ive spray the two controls with WD-40 and it worked perfectly, but this set still has no signs of life. On the tube chart it says there is a thin copper wire for the tube filaments and i tried looking for it and i cant find the wire, so im having a hard time finding were this wire connects.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #21  
Old 10-07-2017, 11:44 AM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 8,921
If it has fusible link (thin wire used as a fuse) it should be at the point where the fil windings of the power trans connects to a terminal strip. Usually fusible link is covered by heat shrink tubing to prevent shorts. Make sure your power transformer is supplying heater voltage and that it is getting line voltage.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.