View Full Version : Please Don't Let Them Kill It!

colortrakker
11-21-2005, 11:46 PM
If you squint real hard at the sucky cellphone pic (I'm new with that scene), you may just be able to make out the image of a 1965-era 23" Sylvania color console combo. The cabinet is in physically immaculate condition but the set "doesn't work". Nobody knows for sure what the problem is. The set's at a thrift in Allentown PA and is in danger of being thrown out real soon. Guess I'm gonna have to buy a house pretty soon so I can save stuff like this myself!

http://mysite.verizon.net/vze1waks/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/sylv.jpg

kx250rider
11-22-2005, 02:19 AM
NOTICE!!!! That could have a very rare item in it. Sylvania offered a special option around that time, and I have only ever seen one. A 35mm slide viewer that used a flying spot scanner and 3 phototubes to produce a color picture on the TV. Very crude! French actor/producer Roger Vadim had one at his Santa Monica house that I worked on in the early 80s. Really neat item that is totally useless, but rare! I only ever heard of one other one, which was junked in the 70s by Dunbar TV & Tube in LA. I saw parts that I recognized on their junk shelf as coming from one of those Sylvanias, and they confirmed it.

Charles

kc8adu
11-22-2005, 02:59 AM
NOTICE!!!! That could have a very rare item in it. Sylvania offered a special option around that time, and I have only ever seen one. A 35mm slide viewer that used a flying spot scanner and 3 phototubes to produce a color picture on the TV. Very crude! French actor/producer Roger Vadim had one at his Santa Monica house that I worked on in the early 80s. Really neat item that is totally useless, but rare! I only ever heard of one other one, which was junked in the 70s by Dunbar TV & Tube in LA. I saw parts that I recognized on their junk shelf as coming from one of those Sylvanias, and they confirmed it.

Charles
i bet its that one.