View Full Version : Restoring a 22C4113 Philco, had some questions

bobwilson77
03-11-2013, 12:38 PM
Howdy ya'll,
This is my first TV restoration job. The lowdown is that the set had a totally dead picture tube. The original was a 21ZP4 which I replaced with a 21YP4A that is a NOS tube.

You can follow along with the restoration here:
http://www.antiqueradios.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=213720&start=140

I've recapped the set and tested it afterwards. As I've never done this before I had some questions.

First of all- I am getting no picture. The filaments on the picture tube are working. I also believe the flyback is working properly because I get a nice, healthy 'snap' when I discharge the tube. But there seems to be no sound. Just a slight hum and a crackle when I adjust the volume.

However, I made no adjustments. I simply stuck the ion trap back on and also installed the yoke as-is as well from the old tube. The new tube is very different in that for starters, its aluminized and for a weird reason also using a angled gun. Being that this is an aluminized screen I removed the permanent magnets from the yoke assembly.

I've been doing some research as how to do this. Yesterday I didn't realize that there was such a big difference on whether the trap was adjusted correctly or not, ( be easy on me... I'm a newbie!) so when I get home I'll try that. But in addition, are there other adjustments to the yoke assembly/ electromagnetic focus I should be making as well? Could a ion trap out of whack actually cause there to be no picture? What about the electromagnetic focus?

Just seeking some additional opinions before proceeding...

bandersen
03-11-2013, 07:05 PM
Hi and welcome to VideoKarma. Those magnets on the yoke were probably for centering and you should keep them installed.

Yes, the position of the ion trap magnets on the CRT neck are crucial to seeing a picture. Just a slight misadjustment will cause it to go dark.