View Full Version : Sony Trinitron KV-2080R

siegell
07-03-2011, 08:42 AM
Hi I'm a newbie, but I hope you guys can help me out.

It's time for me to bid farewell to my much loved, well-used but perfectly operational Sony Trinitron KV2080R which I purchased in 1987. The remote disappeared at some point, but I still have the oringinal manual and even the receipt. I'm trying to figure out what I should list it for.

Also, my mom has a similar era 20inch XBR which is not fully functional -- I can't recall if its the picture or the sound that's not working.

I also have a a KV13TR24 which I may or not sell.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on values. I live in NYC.

siegell
07-03-2011, 10:26 AM
Also a similiar era Mitsubishi Monitor

radiotvnut
07-03-2011, 11:38 AM
Those are decent sets; but, '80's era TV's don't bring much $ and there are not many collectors who are interested in TV's that new. I just sold a mid '80's 19" Sony, that worked perfectly, to a "non-collector" for $25. And, I felt lucky to get that much for it. The 20" XBR is probably like the one my Sister and ex-BIL paid megabucks for back in the mid '80's; but, once again, they are not worth much now. Since it has issues, you'd probably be looking at between $0-$5.

Beachboy
07-04-2011, 11:38 AM
Although these aren't the same exact models as you're selling, the prices might give you some perspective. Less than a year ago, I purchased a 20" Sony KV-20S42 for $20 and most recently, a 13" Sony KV-13TR27 for $5. I have a 20" XBR that I bought new in 1992 that I'd be lucky to get $20 for.

I know its frustrating when you paid high dollar for these TV's new and they still likely have years of life left in them, to have to almost give them away. I keep thinking there are lots of people who can't afford to pay several hundred dollars for a new LCD or plasma TV and would love to have a good used CRT version, but sadly, that doesn't seem to be the case, at least around here.

compucat
07-04-2011, 12:41 PM