View Full Version : Crt question

radotvguy
03-28-2007, 11:39 AM
Ok guys , i have a question and hopefully , someone can help . I have two round color crts in my attic . I believe they are 21axp22 . I pulled one out yesterday and tried to test it , unfortunatly nothing , it didnt even light up . Is there anything that i should be checking for . I am pretty new to tv repair , i mainly did radios for years however i came across a few nice consoles and got hooked on tvs , they are a bit of a challenge but a fun hobby .

polaraman
03-28-2007, 12:26 PM
Clean off the pins and try again.

polaraman

radotvguy
03-28-2007, 01:10 PM
the pins were clean , however i will check again . I didnt know if there was anything else with the socket itself that goes wrong or not ,being i dont have much expirience with these . One crt appears to be in excellent shape with no cataracs which is rare . I just picked up a magnavox color round screen console and the crt is in bad shape . Thats when i decided to pull out one of the crts in my attic , which i got from a repairman years ago and i just stored them in the event in ever would need one or knew someone who needed one .
thanks

bgadow
03-28-2007, 01:56 PM
That is a frustrating problem. Some possiblities: a bad connection with the pins-you could try heating them up and getting some extra solder down inside. I have pulled the socket loose on several tubes after nothing else worked but this is a major pain. And I have never had it work. But worth a shot if the tube is otherwise to be condemned. Could be a loose connection inside the tube. Tapping on the neck LIGHTLY with a screwdriver handle or some such will sometimes work. All 3 guns are connected to the same pins but often just one will be loose.

The worst case...and sadly most common...is that the tube has gone to air and the filaments are bad. This is not an easy tube to come by so I would give it ever shot.