Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Solid State CRT Televisions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2017, 01:26 PM
user181 user181 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 210
Sony XBR Questions

I have a Sony XBR widescreen CRT HDTV, and when I went to turn it on this past Saturday, it wouldn't power up. The red "timer/standby" LED blinked in succession 20 or 21 times for the two instances I tried to turn it on.

I have the official Sony service manual for my model, and see that the self-diagnostics give statuses for up to 7 blinks, but nothing more.

I found a tidbit of info on the Sony website recommending to unplug the power cord to the set for a little while and then plug it back in. I tried that and the set has worked ever since, but I am wondering what the problem could have been, and/or if this is a symptom that is indicative of something that needs to be addressed/fixed.


Also, I am considering purchasing a set of boards for this set to have as spares. Does anyone have any good sources for new/refurbished Sony boards to recommend?


Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2017, 03:07 PM
Eric H's Avatar
Eric H Eric H is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 11,277
TV's today are basically Computers, Computers sometime lock up for reasons unknown and have to be reset, I suspect that's all that happened to yours.

I run my Panasonic off an uninterruptible power supply to filter out the surges and brown outs in the AC Supply, I don't know if that would help but it can't hurt.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2017, 03:52 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 8,926
I've had such a set for ~5 months. In the first month or so it did the same thing yours did then was back to normal after being unplugged a few min. It has not relapsed yet so I'd say it was probably a microprocessor glitch that needed a reset...Remember than the CPUs and code in most consumer gear are not designed forever without crashing and needing a reboot.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2017, 04:42 PM
user181 user181 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 210
I've had mine for almost 9 years (5 years on a UPS) and never had an issue. I'm content if it was just a one-off peculiarity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-2017, 05:14 PM
Findm-Keepm's Avatar
Findm-Keepm Findm-Keepm is offline
Followin' the Rules...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,835
Anything beyond 5 blinks on a Sony is power related - but with NO MODEL NUMBER posted, you'll get nuthin' from me.

http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...65&postcount=1

Sony made over 370 XBR models (just the index in the ESI software, there may be more)

You gotta give us some meat. Some of us have beaucoup experience with Sonys and could offer help....
__________________
Brian
USN RET (Avionics / Cal)
CET- Consumer Repair and Avionics ('88)
"Capacitor Cosmetologist since '79"

When fuses go to work, they quit!
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 04-24-2017, 05:18 PM
user181 user181 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Findm-Keepm View Post
Anything beyond 5 blinks on a Sony is power related - but with NO MODEL NUMBER posted, you'll get nuthin' from me.



http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...65&postcount=1



Sony made over 370 XBR models (just the index in the ESI software, there may be more)



You gotta give us some meat. Some of us have beaucoup experience with Sonys and could offer help....

Sure thing -- I apologize for leaving that out.

It is a KD-34XBR970.

I would love to get as much information as I can about it.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-24-2017, 05:56 PM
zeno zeno is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 2,784
Hopefully it was micro lock-up........

BUT these sets had one fatal weak point. If yours is one it
uses 2 identical IC's. One in the STBY power supply & another
in the RUN power supply. They fail left & right.
Symptoms are dead set and or hard starting getting worse with time.
I had the 30" model & the 4th set went bad in 5 yrs. There was never a cure from Sony. The spare boards were all used up in < a year IIRC.
Fix is to replace BOTH IC's & install IC sockets so you can swap
them fast next time. One last thing is to watch out for bootleg IC's.
Ask around for advice before ordering any.

Good luck with the set. IMHO it had the best pix on any set ever.
I sure miss mine.....

73 Zeno
LFOD !
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-24-2017, 07:51 PM
Chip Chester Chip Chester is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 492
This went out on my KV25XBR back when there were TV repair shops. Not seen much use in the last 10 years, but so far so good. Have a parts set...

Chip
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-24-2017, 09:21 PM
Findm-Keepm's Avatar
Findm-Keepm Findm-Keepm is offline
Followin' the Rules...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,835
EDIT: OOPs! Wrong series of chassis - huge difference in what my train of thought was. Your set uses the MCZ3001DB....I've always found it best to swap the D board, or go for the chip swap, but socket them and get spares.....


Genuine MX0841's ain't cheap no more:

https://www.encompassparts.com/item/...or_Mx0841-ab-f

Nor are the MCZ3001DB chips:

https://www.encompassparts.com/item/...1/Ic_Mcz3001db

I depleted my supply of them long ago - I still have two 2SC4834s for the smaller screen stuff.....

Those two chips are why I've junked more Sonys in the last 4 years. You can't go cheap with anything but the genuine Sony parts - the Chinese have mastered the fakes, and they don't hold up.

The ESI disc has a service bulletin for finding true MX0841's using capacitance of all things - the C-E junction has to have a certain picofarad value. Of 7 I had, only 3 checked out OK - the rest were obvious fakes already, but it validated the capacitance check as a way to rule out the fakes. I never got a fake from Tritronics (now Encompass, aka a Wall-Street-Run parts place....)
__________________
Brian
USN RET (Avionics / Cal)
CET- Consumer Repair and Avionics ('88)
"Capacitor Cosmetologist since '79"

When fuses go to work, they quit!

Last edited by Findm-Keepm; 04-24-2017 at 09:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-26-2017, 11:58 AM
user181 user181 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 210
Thanks for the information. I will stock up on some ICs. Briefly, what is the function of the MCZ3001DB?

Also, would you be able to share any relevant service bulletins? (Or point me to a resource to purchase, if it's proprietary/copyrighted).

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #11  
Old 04-27-2017, 05:18 PM
Zenith26kc20's Avatar
Zenith26kc20 Zenith26kc20 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 801
The IC's are part of power supply supplies. As mentioned earlier, be careful! No buying from our favorite auction site. The fake ones can fail rapidly or, in some cases, cause plenty of smoke, noise and sparks. I junked my super fine pitch 34' because of the chips. It was an incredible set when it worked!
And theft proof!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-27-2017, 05:47 PM
user181 user181 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenith26kc20 View Post
The IC's are part of power supply supplies. As mentioned earlier, be careful! No buying from our favorite auction site. The fake ones can fail rapidly or, in some cases, cause plenty of smoke, noise and sparks. I junked my super fine pitch 34' because of the chips. It was an incredible set when it worked!

And theft proof!

I ordered some from Encompass Parts -- hoping they are genuine.

Out of curiosity, what is the manufacturer of the genuine chips? The photo on the Encompass website shows "Shendengen" on the chip -- is that legitimate?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-28-2017, 02:40 AM
andy's Avatar
andy andy is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by user181 View Post
I ordered some from Encompass Parts -- hoping they are genuine.

Out of curiosity, what is the manufacturer of the genuine chips? The photo on the Encompass website shows "Shendengen" on the chip -- is that legitimate?
You can't go by manufacturer because the counterfeiters mark them with the name brand. Sometimes a careful side by side comparison to a known genuine part will reveal a counterfeit, but it's not conclusive. Sometimes the genuine manufacturers change their markings, and some of the counterfeits look really good.
__________________
Wanted list:
RCA CTC-5
RCA CTC19 or 27
Sony KV-7010U
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-29-2017, 12:21 AM
Findm-Keepm's Avatar
Findm-Keepm Findm-Keepm is offline
Followin' the Rules...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy View Post
You can't go by manufacturer because the counterfeiters mark them with the name brand. Sometimes a careful side by side comparison to a known genuine part will reveal a counterfeit, but it's not conclusive. Sometimes the genuine manufacturers change their markings, and some of the counterfeits look really good.
Encompass (the old Tritronics) sources their stuff from Sony. They are ISO Supply-Chain certified and anti-counterfeit/gray market certified as well. Just expensive, unlike the old TriTronics. We could call and get the same sales lady each time, but not so now. Tritronics, MAT, MCM (pre-Premier/Farnell), ASTI, and Fox were all the independent dealer needed back in the late 80s/90s/00s.....enter Orion and Funai and splat! No support or accessibility.

And yes, Shendengen made the originals.
__________________
Brian
USN RET (Avionics / Cal)
CET- Consumer Repair and Avionics ('88)
"Capacitor Cosmetologist since '79"

When fuses go to work, they quit!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-30-2017, 07:35 PM
rcaman's Avatar
rcaman rcaman is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: mississippi
Posts: 718
the last i got from encompass was junk and went up in a fit of sparks. and encompass would not warranty them i no longer buy ANYTHING from encompass.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.