Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > VideoKarma Classifieds

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2016, 01:41 PM
vts1134's Avatar
vts1134 vts1134 is offline
Looking For Time
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,493
Free 40" Sony XBR w/Stand

I thought I'd post this here. My company picked up a 40" XBR tube set with a matching stand today. It still works perfectly well and I would really hate to see it go to the recyclers if some one here could use it. If you don't know about this set let me say it is a really nice picture, it has no HDMI inputs, and weighs as much as your car. If some one can come pick it up please let me know.

__________________
John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2016, 04:12 PM
miniman82's Avatar
miniman82 miniman82 is offline
First Light: 1952-2011
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 4,073
I'm still looking for a 16x9 Superfine Trinitron, so if you come across one of those I'm game. I can't justify an SD CRT set at this time, maybe in the future when I don't have so many 21" color roundies kicking around. I'd take anything flat panel over 55" though whether it works of not, I like to have a spare or two sitting around in case one of my other junkyard rescues buys the farm, lol.
__________________
Evolution...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2016, 04:47 PM
andy's Avatar
andy andy is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,933
It's a HD set, just not 16:9. Great for watching Blu-rays of classic TV shows.
__________________
Wanted list:
RCA CTC-5
RCA CTC19 or 27
Sony KV-7010U
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2016, 05:47 PM
jr_tech's Avatar
jr_tech jr_tech is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,583
Without HDMI, how do you get a HD signal from the Bluray into it?

confused,
jr
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2016, 06:20 PM
vts1134's Avatar
vts1134 vts1134 is offline
Looking For Time
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,493
You'd have to have a bluray with component video. Andy is correct that it is an HD set and will scan 1080i, it even does some special 16x9 mode iirc.
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 04-21-2016, 06:55 PM
rca2000's Avatar
rca2000 rca2000 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: cincinnati,ohio
Posts: 2,096
All 350+ POUNDS of it..excluding stand !!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2016, 07:09 PM
rld-tv01's Avatar
rld-tv01 rld-tv01 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Seal Beach, Ca
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by jr_tech View Post
Without HDMI, how do you get a HD signal from the Bluray into it?
I got a $29 HDMI/component converter on eBay which I use from a DVR to a TV without HDMI. I had to set the HDMI out on my DVR to 720P since my TV does not do 1080P.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-21-2016, 07:27 PM
zeno zeno is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 2,782
We had a moving co. deliver & put in place these sets.
When done we would do the set-up. It is truly a beast.
But also a VERY nice set.
If you have to move one strap it to a THICK piece of plywood
bigger than the bottom then strap it to an appliance dolly.
Any other way risks caving in the bottom & busting the
PCB etc. It happend to another Sony dealer near us.

Once had one hit by lightning when a few yrs old. They totaled
it & the customer got it to us to recycle with the Sony stand, IIRC
$400 list. Charged him $50 IIRC. Decided to look at it before
sending out back. Blown line fuse thats all ! You do get lucky
now & then.
BTW it takes two men & a boy just to move the stand.

73 Zeno
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-21-2016, 07:38 PM
jr_tech's Avatar
jr_tech jr_tech is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,583
Interesting, thanks! I had no idea HD would work without a direct HDMI connection.

jr
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2016, 08:13 PM
vts1134's Avatar
vts1134 vts1134 is offline
Looking For Time
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by rca2000 View Post
All 350+ POUNDS of it..excluding stand !!
The worst part is the customer tipped the two installers who removed the set exactly $0.
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #11  
Old 04-21-2016, 08:20 PM
vts1134's Avatar
vts1134 vts1134 is offline
Looking For Time
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeno View Post
...
If you have to move one strap it to a THICK piece of plywood
bigger than the bottom then strap it to an appliance dolly...

73 Zeno
We always use these. Thankfully TVs are lighter now. There was a time when we'd do 10-15 heavy sets like this a week!

__________________
John
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-21-2016, 10:57 PM
Sandy G's Avatar
Sandy G Sandy G is offline
Spiteful Old Cuss
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rogersville, Tennessee
Posts: 9,095
My days of wrestlin' ginormous TVs & radios are sadly other..
__________________
Benevolent Despot
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-21-2016, 11:20 PM
rca2000's Avatar
rca2000 rca2000 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: cincinnati,ohio
Posts: 2,096
I save what little is left of my back to lift vintage things...like that big Zenith SS stereo console I got, or that metal 23" GE set I BARELY could muster into the van a couple of weeks back in Wyoming Ohio.. Glad I did...since it now resides in Downers Grove Ill !!Besides that...I have NEVER seen one of those monster Sony sets that did NOT have at least a minor purity /geometery issue..
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-22-2016, 09:05 AM
CoogarXR's Avatar
CoogarXR CoogarXR is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by vts1134 View Post
We always use these. Thankfully TVs are lighter now. There was a time when we'd do 10-15 heavy sets like this a week!

I had one of those projection TVs, except it was an 83 model. That thing had a ton of wood, and was like moving a piano. I moved 3 times with that thing, each time pulling it up out of a basement, and putting it down into another basement. I eventually replaced it with a 36" Gateway Destination monitor, which wasn't much easier to move, lol.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-22-2016, 11:12 AM
andy's Avatar
andy andy is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by rld-tv01 View Post
I got a $29 HDMI/component converter on eBay which I use from a DVR to a TV without HDMI. I had to set the HDMI out on my DVR to 720P since my TV does not do 1080P.
Those types of adapters are handy for certain SD sets too. I'm using a HDMI to RGB converter to send 480i (from a Tivo) to the RGB input of my Sony 20XBR.

A HDMI to component converter would be useful with any SD set that has a component input. Not all HDMI devices can output 480i, but most older devices can.
__________________
Wanted list:
RCA CTC-5
RCA CTC19 or 27
Sony KV-7010U
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.