Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Solid State CRT Televisions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 04-05-2016, 07:34 PM
VideoKarma Member

1980 RCA Colortrak 25" troubleshooting help

I am hoping to get some input from any of the RCA tech's on this site to help troubleshoot my set (hopefully a retired RCA tech). This TV an oldie but a goodie.

Here are the specs on the set:

1980 RCA colortrak Model GD936TR
XL Chassis CTC-101B

Manufactured Sept. 1979, I purchased brand new December 27, 1979

It has only ever had two repair jobs both in the 1980's. The flyback transformer was replaced and the chroma IC was replaced - both performed by an authorized RCA repair shop.

I will preface by saying that I do have the full schematic on this set and am familiar with the schematic.
I am a novice but have repaired many electronic things as far as replacing capacitors, resistors, diodes, transistors - my de-soldering and soldering skills are excellent, I can read a schematic and understand a fair bit. I do not have a scope for tracing, I do have a good meter for testing.

This set has been in constant daily use since new. The wood cabinet is like new and I like this set and do not want a flat screen TV. I intend to fix whatever is wrong with this set. That said, here are my issues:

The picture is otherwise excellent. I have adjusted the screen, color driver and bias controls as per schematic and the result is a beautiful picture.