Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Rectangular Screen Tube Televisions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 12-05-2015, 11:10 AM
VideoKarma Member

1961 Coronado Capri

The zenith I worked on earlier in the year has a bad CRT, so I tucked that away and am going to try to get this one running 1st. Its a 17"B&W, chassis #TV2-9402H. Sams set 553, folder 1. I'm still a rookie at this so please bear with me.
This is full of bumble bees, but there arent a terrible amount of parts in it. Its a hot chassis set. Im adding a few pictures and have a few questions;
1. The crt back side is peeling. Is this going to be an issue and is there anything I can do about it? Hot chassis is one of my concerns with that.
2. The flyback has one crack. The pic looks like 2 but there is only the one. Should this be coated somehow or should I just go ahead and try it after I recap? I did try a slow power up with no results except squeeling from the speaker.
3. If you notice anything else on the chassis feel free to comment. It has a 20W resistor way over tolerance so I know that needs replacing too. The CRT tests good, at least with the tester I bought. I do have a schematic. I also have isolation transformer. I can add pics of if needed. Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tv's 005.jpg (56.6 KB, 76 views)
File Type: jpg tv 001.jpg (91.3 KB, 78 views)
File Type: jpg tv 006.jpg (47.6 KB, 56 views)
File Type: jpg tv 008.jpg (113.4 KB, 78 views)
File Type: jpg 004.JPG (58.9 KB, 183 views)
Old 12-05-2015, 12:11 PM
VideoKarma Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by fixmeplease View Post
The zenith I worked on earlier in the year has a bad CRT, so I tucked that away and am going to try to get this one running 1st. Its a 17"B&W, chassis #TV2-9402H. Sams set 553, folder 1. I'm still a rookie at this so please bear with me.