Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > VideoKarma Classifieds

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 11-22-2015, 09:23 PM
VideoKarma Member

WTB: Working sets in Ala/surrounding states

Hey guys, just wanted to post a want ad. I am new to this hobby, and don't yet have a decent old set. I have two mid 1980s sets I bought at a thrift store. I see a lot of sets here that I would love to have, if only distance wasn't so extreme. Most of y'all are in the great lakes area, or the west coast. It is very hard to find any kind of sets of the age I want around here. I was wondering if any of you guys in the surrounding states (MS,GA, and FL) have anything you'd like to get rid of.

I'd like to start off with something that is easy to maintain, and isn't very finicky. It needs to be in working order. I have pretty limited space, and my parents are hesitant about letting me bring in "non working junk" (The reason being a fiasco with a Zenith System 3 console that I got for free, untested. It didn't work, and now I know it was most likely a simple 9-160 replacement, but at the time I didn't have a clue. The end result was having to take it to a electronics recycle across town, which was the only one that accepted TVs.)
Because if that, I don't have the room, support, or patience to restore a set.

I would like to start off with something not too costly, easy to maintain, and not too large. Something not too awkward or complex. A simple 19"-21", non remote set.