Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Introductions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 12-28-2013, 12:34 PM
VideoKarma Member

New Member-Old Teleset!

Howdy!

My name is Cary and I'm just beginning my odyssey of restoring a DuMont RA-112-A1 that my grandparents purchased new in 1950 or so. They owned and used it for many years until it was replaced probably around 1960 or so. I was born in 1964, and all I remember is that it was stored in a corner of the master bedroom of my grandmother's house until she sold the place in the mid to late 1980's. The house was scheduled for demolition after sale, so the new landowners could put up a bunch of tract-homes on the property. The old appliances in the kitchen, some old furniture, and the TV had been left behind. On my last visit I manged to stuff the TV into the back of a van and haul it home, a couple hundred miles away, and I've been hauling it around ever since. In the last year I've got a couple of antique radios under my belt, and an antique phonograph, and it's time to do something with that old Teleset! So, SAM'S Photofact, Rider's Guide, a couple of basic multimeters and electrical testers, and soldering iron in hand...here I go!!!
Old 12-28-2013, 02:11 PM
VideoKarma Member

welcome Cary from northern Indiana ,sounds like your in the right place .
Old 12-28-2013, 02:54 PM
VideoKarma Member

Welcome!

Seems as though you are ready to tackle that television.

Keep us updated and include photos.
Old 12-28-2013, 04:13 PM
RCA 741PCS

Welcome to the forum and good luck with your set. I recently restored a very similar RA113. You can read about it here: http://www.videokarma.org/showthread.php?t=259542
Old 12-28-2013, 04:45 PM
Spiteful Old Cuss

Welcome ! Nice t'have ya !
Old 12-28-2013, 05:28 PM
Not sure how I got here.

Good Luck ! Remember to send us a few post cards on that project....
Old 12-28-2013, 09:21 PM
VideoKarma Member

Quote: