Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early Color Television

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #46  
Old 06-16-2011, 08:04 AM
Aussie Bloke's Avatar
Aussie Bloke Aussie Bloke is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 542
Congratulations on buying this ultra rare prototype colour TV set, I am glad to see it has gone to a good home and to someone of these forums!!! Best of luck getting this set crankin again and I look forward to seeing your progress along the way!
__________________
AUSSIE AUSSIE AUSSIE!!!!! OI OI OI!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 06-16-2011, 09:53 AM
Kamakiri's Avatar
Kamakiri Kamakiri is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Buffalo, New York
Posts: 4,949
I may have missed it, but what's the story of how you got this set in the first place? Inquiring minds want to know
__________________
"Restoring a tube TV is like going to war. A color one is like a land war in Asia."
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 06-16-2011, 10:23 AM
miniman82's Avatar
miniman82 miniman82 is offline
First Light: 1952-2011
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 4,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamakiri View Post
I may have missed it, but what's the story of how you got this set in the first place? Inquiring minds want to know

It was at auction, on Ebay. I would like to know how Harry Poster got a hold of it though, he never did tell anyone unless I missed it.
__________________
Evolution...
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 06-16-2011, 10:32 AM
miniman82's Avatar
miniman82 miniman82 is offline
First Light: 1952-2011
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 4,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric H View Post
I think the next question is not if this set can be made operational but IF it should be. If it's an RCA Prototype it truly is a signifigant piece of history, replacing capacitors and other components would seriously compromise it's historical value IMO.

Here's my take:

It is a museum worthy piece, therefore it belongs in a museum. For that reason, I am considering placing it at the ETF once I am done with it.

I have always been of the mind that if the set actually works, no one is going to care what's 'under the hood', since 9 times out of 10 it would not have worked on original capacitors anyway. No one walks into the ETF and says about the Model 5: "you know that thing would be much better non-functioning and with original caps". I don't think so. It's a much better thing to see it in operation, it blows away any thought of keeping it original once you see something on screen.

Lastly, I may not have to change anything in the first place. The chassis has what appear to be aerospace grade metal-film capacitors, so it may not need total replacement of the caps. They are not prone to leakage and breakdown like wax/PIOs are, so we'll see if they are any good. The lytics will be restuffed, but thankfully they are all mounted on wafers and secured to the chassis with screws. They will be easy to do.
__________________
Evolution...
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 06-16-2011, 11:36 AM
Pete Deksnis's Avatar
Pete Deksnis Pete Deksnis is online now
15GP22 demo @ ETF 2007
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by MelodyMaster View Post
But it appears that the set has been used over the years http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...8&postcount=24 So it was either built as 3.579 quadrature, or has been modified to be NTSC-compatible.
I use the popular version of Occam's Razor: Don't allow an unproven variable to screw up a comfortable conclusion.

As Steve McVoy indicated, there are competing reasons for a post-1952 tube to be in this set. Also, as been stated earlier in this thread, there is not a scintilla of visible evidence that the CRT socket had 4-or-so kV on the convergence element (pin 13) for an extended period.

Still, there are no final conclusions. Perhaps this chassis will turn out to be from Hazeltine Corp.; they were located in the same general area as RCA Labs and where Harry Poster now has his business.

The quest goes on...

Pete

Last edited by Pete Deksnis; 06-16-2011 at 11:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #51  
Old 06-16-2011, 12:55 PM
Steve McVoy's Avatar
Steve McVoy Steve McVoy is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,128
Harry told me he got the set from a picker, and and it probably came from the Camden area, but he didn't know anything else about it.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 06-16-2011, 02:06 PM
TubeType's Avatar
TubeType TubeType is offline
TubeType Sets
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Starlight, IN; Kauai, HI
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by miniman82 View Post
Here's my take:

It is a museum worthy piece, therefore it belongs in a museum. For that reason, I am considering placing it at the ETF once I am done with it.

I have always been of the mind that if the set actually works, no one is going to care what's 'under the hood', since 9 times out of 10 it would not have worked on original capacitors anyway. No one walks into the ETF and says about the Model 5: "you know that thing would be much better non-functioning and with original caps". I don't think so. It's a much better thing to see it in operation, it blows away any thought of keeping it original once you see something on screen.

Lastly, I may not have to change anything in the first place. The chassis has what appear to be aerospace grade metal-film capacitors, so it may not need total replacement of the caps. They are not prone to leakage and breakdown like wax/PIOs are, so we'll see if they are any good. The lytics will be restuffed, but thankfully they are all mounted on wafers and secured to the chassis with screws. They will be easy to do.
Hi Nick,
Congratulations! I agree with your statements one-hundred percent.
Also, once you have an operational platform, Pete might consider performing comparitive colorimetry measurements on your CRT.
__________________

Caretaker: RCA CT-100
Terry's Tube-Type Sets

Last edited by TubeType; 06-19-2011 at 04:48 PM. Reason: Spelling Correction
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 06-16-2011, 07:43 PM
JBL_1 JBL_1 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 37
Looks to me like there is one newer yellow electrolytic soldered under the chassis.
I'm a big fan of getting rid of all the leaky paper caps. But I have also had very good
luck with electrolyics in cans from the pre-wars up thru the mid 50's. I just reform them with a very low charge current and they are not leaky. It is not like they are in a place to cause a lot of damage when they short. My TRK-120 has all of it's original electrolytics and it works fine.. I thought Harry told me he got it from a picker from the Lancaster area.. I'll have to go back and check my emails.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 06-16-2011, 07:53 PM
Mal Fuller Mal Fuller is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 111
I've been back tonight snooping again through your excellent and detailed photos of your chassis. I found it very interesting that the rear apron red, green and blue screen controls (presumably) have plastic color keyed shafts. That seems almost prophetic in such an early prototype.
For a chassis this seminal, I'd have expected three generic pots, identical in every way, both physically and electrically.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 06-16-2011, 08:00 PM
Steve D.'s Avatar
Steve D. Steve D. is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hollywood Hills, Ca.
Posts: 1,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBL_1 View Post
Looks to me like there is one newer yellow electrolytic soldered under the chassis.
I'm a big fan of getting rid of all the leaky paper caps. But I have also had very good
luck with electrolyics in cans from the pre-wars up thru the mid 50's. I just reform them with a very low charge current and they are not leaky. It is not like they are in a place to cause a lot of damage when they short. My TRK-120 has all of it's original electrolytics and it works fine.. I thought Harry told me he got it from a picker from the Lancaster area.. I'll have to go back and check my emails.
I also remember the Lancaster area being mentioned in an early post or e-mail on this.

-Steve D.
__________________
Please visit my CT-100, CTC-5, vintage color tv site:
http://www.wtv-zone.com/Stevetek/
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #56  
Old 06-16-2011, 08:09 PM
Steve McVoy's Avatar
Steve McVoy Steve McVoy is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,128
My mistake. Lancaster is what Harry said, but he wasn't certain.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 06-16-2011, 08:15 PM
Steve D.'s Avatar
Steve D. Steve D. is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hollywood Hills, Ca.
Posts: 1,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve McVoy View Post
My mistake. Lancaster is what Harry said, but he wasn't certain.
Steve,

Either city would work. RCA had plants in both Lancaster, Pa. and Camden, N.J.

-Steve D.
__________________
Please visit my CT-100, CTC-5, vintage color tv site:
http://www.wtv-zone.com/Stevetek/
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 06-16-2011, 09:39 PM
Mal Fuller Mal Fuller is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 111
Working under a blank check from Sarnoff, engineers developed the tri-color, shadow mask prototypes and finally the 15GP22 in Lancaster I believe. I once owned a wonderful RCA booklet about RCA's tri-color CRT development project. I lent it on request to the late Rudolphus (?) Swan, a retired engineer from Sylvania's tube division who, despite repeated requests, never would returned it.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 06-16-2011, 10:00 PM
miniman82's Avatar
miniman82 miniman82 is offline
First Light: 1952-2011
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 4,073
Several requests have been received for me to label the back panel controls, so here it is!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CHASSISLABEL.JPG (145.7 KB, 161 views)
__________________
Evolution...
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 06-16-2011, 10:38 PM
Zenith6S321's Avatar
Zenith6S321 Zenith6S321 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Piney Point, Maryland
Posts: 302
Since there does not seem to be any main power transformer or power rectifiers present, is the 7 pin male plug on the lower left chassis back panel where a separate power chassis plugs in?
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.