Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early Color Television

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2011, 02:18 AM
miniman82's Avatar
miniman82 miniman82 is offline
First Light: 1952-2011
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 4,073
Necked roundie $140, Montgomery TX CL

no affiliation

http://houston.craigslist.org/fuo/2240128938.html

bad picture:

__________________
Evolution...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2011, 06:32 AM
DaveWM DaveWM is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 5,604
I was hoping that was just a real bad cat..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2011, 10:26 AM
miniman82's Avatar
miniman82 miniman82 is offline
First Light: 1952-2011
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 4,073
Pretty sure I'm seeing the phosphors blown off the tube face, but maybe it is a cat since the picture is so bad it's hard to tell. What make and model is it, BTW?
__________________
Evolution...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2011, 12:37 PM
Sandy G's Avatar
Sandy G Sandy G is offline
Spiteful Old Cuss
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rogersville, Tennessee
Posts: 9,095
Looks like the CRT's popped to me. Too bad, from what you can tell it looked to be a nice set otherwise.
__________________
Benevolent Despot
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2011, 01:11 PM
Jeffhs's Avatar
Jeffhs Jeffhs is offline
<----Zenith C845
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fairport Harbor, Ohio (near Lake Erie)
Posts: 3,480
The seller said he cannot tell if the phonograph works because he does not have records to use to test it. He could have simply flicked the stylus with the unit on. If he heard noise in the speakers, the cartridge, the speakers and at least one amplifier are probably OK.

BTW, I think the phosphors are blown off the CRT screen, indicating, of course, that the neck was snapped off. I too had trouble even seeing the TV screen at first, until I increased my monitor brightness as high as it will go.

IMHO, whomever took that picture either did so without the flash or else tried to shoot it in semi- or total darkness, using only the flash. If he or she were using a cheap, small digital camera (or a cell phone cam) with an equally small flash tube, additional light will be required to get a decent picture, as the extremely small flash units in cameras such as the Radio Shack Flatfoto series are not nearly bright enough (or are timed not to stay on long enough) to illuminate the subject very well. There are no manual adjustments on these cameras for exposure or anything else--it is all automatic (typical point-and-shoot design), using what Radio Shack calls its "Autobrite" system. I have such a camera and have found that I need at least one other light on in the room in which I am taking a picture, in order to get a photo bright enough to see all the details and to prevent bright spots. This is especially important if, for example, I am taking a picture of my cat. She has green eyes; when the camera flash goes off, with no other light in the room it reflects off them, causing bright white spots where her eyes should be to show in the picture.
__________________
Jeff, WB8NHV

Collecting, restoring and enjoying vintage Zenith radios since 2002

Zenith. Gone, but not forgotten.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 03-03-2011, 02:58 PM
Eric H's Avatar
Eric H Eric H is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 11,277
Blown phosphors for sure

I brightened it up as much as possible, definitely a blown tube, and a cataract to boot.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg blownphosphors.jpg (3.6 KB, 82 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-03-2011, 03:54 PM
Username1's Avatar
Username1 Username1 is offline
Not sure how I got here.
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orange County NY
Posts: 3,466
There are a lot of photographically challenged individuals with access to CL.
__________________
Yes you can call me "Squirrel boy"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-03-2011, 07:41 PM
VintagePC's Avatar
VintagePC VintagePC is offline
Tube bug got me 05/2010
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by Username1 View Post
There are a lot of photographically challenged individuals FULL STOP
There. fixed that for you.... Forgot the likes of ****book and **space, did we?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-04-2011, 11:19 PM
DaveWM DaveWM is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 5,604
gone now, wonder if anyone here got it?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.