Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Rectangular Screen Tube Televisions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 05-06-2011, 09:15 PM
VideoKarma Member

Dos ANYONE here feel that our old "goodies" were REALLY meant to last 40-80 years??

I have been musing a bit, after my last two acquisitions from CL--A CTC-40 combo and a 1970 RCA stereo console with the VERY rare RS-246 amp--that was only made for ONE year...and which I have been seeking for OVER 30 years now!! (I happen to have a "soft spot" for the better made, higher--end console stereo of the 60's to early 70's, both tube and SS.)

Some of us have old tv's stereo, radios and other electronics that are from 35-80+ years old. Often--we CAN get them to work again--and often, most of the "high dollar" original parts are still good. But, one CANNOT say the same for ANY remotely modern stuff--built to last no more than 5-10 years or so, and probably with several repairs during that time frame.

I just wonder:: Does ANYONE really think that when they built our old things---they had ANY concern to make them to be able to last--or at least be fixable--30,40,50 and MORE years in the future??

Personally--I do NOT. I figure they made things to last say--15-20 years or so in the "old days" , without too much trouble--but I think that the reason we can get the to work for twice that long--or longer now--is just one of those "unintended consequences" of the way "things were done then".... Build something they way "you" would want it built---and it will turn out be be of VERY high quality--at least--compared to TODAY.

Zenith, in particular REALLY "overbuilt" a LOT of their tv's stereos, radios and such--at least till the early--mid 1970's or so. With the hand--wired chassis and such--they are nearly "bulletproof" and a testament to "build it right--and to last".