Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early Color Television

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 06-19-2012, 01:53 AM
lnx64's Avatar
lnx64 lnx64 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 1,569
Yea, I'm starting to think so too..

I asked her if it smells at all of anything burning, no smell.. So that's good..
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-20-2012, 07:56 AM
Charlie's Avatar
Charlie Charlie is offline
On Land
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Warren, TX
Posts: 2,555
I just had 3 tubes in my CTC9 fail... that was strange. But I would still think caps on this one... however you never know.
__________________
Charlie Trahan


He who dies with the most toys still dies.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-20-2012, 08:46 AM
DaveWM DaveWM is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 5,604
blooming and loss of pic, smells like HV trouble to me.

is audio still there? if so then:

check the HV 1st with a HV prob, if not there sub in new HOT/Damper/HV reg/HV rectifier. Check the cathode current of the HOT.

If no audio then you prob have a B+ issue, maybe a blown fuse (bad filter caps shorted).

If you have HV audio and still no pic, check the video out tube.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-20-2012, 08:51 AM
lnx64's Avatar
lnx64 lnx64 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 1,569
She thinks she had sound still, with the same amount of hum. I'm not having her plug it in again until I get there this weekend to check it out.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-20-2012, 09:11 AM
ctc17 ctc17 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,617
And I NEVER say this....but

That set needs a complete recap including all the orange and red drops. I have a ctc9 and all the caps are bad, didn't you restore one Dave that alll the 200 volt red drops were bad too?

You. Can keep running it and it will keep degrading. Its not like a late 60s set you can change a few parts on and put into service
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #21  
Old 06-20-2012, 09:31 AM
lnx64's Avatar
lnx64 lnx64 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 1,569
Ok. I'll stop by our local electronics surplus store and see if I can find all these parts to replace them.. Is there a parts list?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-20-2012, 10:01 AM
ctc17 ctc17 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,617
LOL! Surplus store?
How about getting an order together of good caps, not the yellow china ones or some 40 year old crap
Replace the one at a time and test the new ones as you install.

This set is worth doing right. Quality parts and tlc
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-20-2012, 11:05 AM
lnx64's Avatar
lnx64 lnx64 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 1,569
My surplus store is Sky Craft.. They do actually have good parts, like Nichicon caps and stuff.. They are just in boxes and you have to find them yourself, not sorted well.

Not my pic: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2107/...a288890516.jpg

It's a dream place. They have almost everything. That's where I got my tektronix scope with frequency counter and DVM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-20-2012, 12:20 PM
DaveWM DaveWM is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 5,604
Resistors are ok at skyjunk (I like to buy carbon comps there but need to test), but if you are buying caps, you need to be careful, you have no idea how old they are. You are better off buying caps from mouser, get radial lead caps for filters, there are new narrow ones that fit inside cans better, and get good quality film caps. the ones that generally are problems are the old 200v rated film caps and the HV caps in the sweep circuits. the high quality caps like good orange drops that skyjunk does have tend to be over priced.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-20-2012, 12:26 PM
DaveWM DaveWM is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 5,604
I see you are local, if you want you can bring it to my place and I will take a look at it. PM me if interested.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #26  
Old 06-20-2012, 01:40 PM
lnx64's Avatar
lnx64 lnx64 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 1,569
Ok. I'll think about it. Probably will just bring it over.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-20-2012, 03:16 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 9,000
As someone who used to live near enough to shop at Sky Craft I can say the following.
It is not always easy to find caps with the proper rating for tube gear, and when they do have caps with the right rating they are not always good let alone suitable for TV.

I recapped my first(successfully repaired)TV set using their caps and though it was not too bad in the beginning now over four years later it has gotten so unstable that I'm considering recaping it again!
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-20-2012, 03:38 PM
lnx64's Avatar
lnx64 lnx64 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 1,569
Shoot I hope the caps I bought for my lcd don't go bad.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-25-2012, 12:19 AM
lnx64's Avatar
lnx64 lnx64 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 1,569
Sorry I didn't get to posting about this.

This TV was definitely serviced much later in it's life than the original sticker.. The parts inside looked far too new to be early 80's. I was able to find however what was happening, some of the wires inside were getting chewed on by some rodents, which is odd, because she keeps a very clean house, but, it IS near Lee Road here in Orlando, which are some older houses. So I strung new wires, and it's all set, raster is normal now, and the hum is gone in the speakers.. The bottom of the cabinet was missing a grille to cover the vents.. So I laid a new one for her..

All set.. Sorry, no pictures, my iPhones battery died well before I even got to her house (I left the stupid Tom Tom app running by accident).

It's convergence is crap though.. Only the VERY center is ok, but the rest, not good.. It's apparently been like this.. So I'm gonna have to learn how to converge these sets then.

EDIT: Oh, and I was surprised, I never knew the CTC-9 had a PCB in it.. I thought all these roundies were point to point wiring.. It had that too, but was surprised to even see a form of a circuit board.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-25-2012, 01:08 AM
zenithfan1's Avatar
zenithfan1 zenithfan1 is offline
Mark
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kenosha, Wisconsin
Posts: 4,142
Rca started using PC boards with the CTC 4, The IF section was the only board in that one. From the CTC 5 on had several. Zenith, however, used point to point in everything up until the '70s. A few others did too but most sets had boards in them.
Glad to hear it's working again.
__________________
My TV page and YouTube channel
Kyocera R-661, Yamaha RX-V2200
National Panasonic SA-5800
Sansui 1000a, 1000, SAX-200, 5050, 9090DB, 881, SR-636, SC-3000, AT-20
Pioneer SX-939, ER-420, SM-B201
Motorola SK77W-2Z tube console
McIntosh MC2205, C26
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.