Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > VideoKarma Classifieds

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 05-30-2010, 10:34 PM
No time for this hobby

WTB Tube Tester

I'd like to buy a decent working tube tester. I'm not picky. I don't want to collect them so if its a nonworking antique I'm not interested. I want to use it. Just a good working one. The newer the better. I am a newbie to this so it does not have to be the best model with all the bells and whistles. Everytime I go to buy one I get beat on that marketplace and I just want to be done with it. If I can help someone here all the better! If no one here has an extra, a little input as far as what they are worth would help me out at that other place too.
Thanx
Old 05-31-2010, 03:11 AM
Restoring Admiral 24A12

You might find these sites useful - I know I did.

http://www.tone-lizard.com/Tube_Testers.html

http://www.alltubetesters.com/articles/tester_guide.htm

IMHO the prices on eBay have gotten ridiculous - especially for the better Hickok models. A Triplet 3413B is my main tester - simple and dependable. It's only an emission tester and doesn't handle compactrons, but will handle anything you're likely to encounter from the 20s-50s. I think I paid about $75 for it a couple years ago.
Old 06-01-2010, 01:54 AM
VideoKarma Member

Something from the Sencore "mighty mite" line or one of the smaller B&K models from the '60's and '70's are decent. And, these have a "grid emission" test, which is very important, especially for TV servicing. Unfortunately, these won't test pre-octal based tubes from the '20's and early '30's. If you want to test the old radio tubes from the '20's, almost any older tube tester will do. The most common are Heathkit, Allied (Knight), Eico, and Precision.