Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early B&W and Projection TV

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 10-29-2017, 12:20 PM
VideoKarma Member

Arc from 1Be plate cap lead to high voltage cage

Working on a Zenith round tube TV. Fired it up for the second time. After it ran for about 30 minutes we heard a noise. I saw a blue arc inside the high voltage cage. After opening the cage it appears the arc was jumping from the plate cap lead of the 1B3 tube to the inside of the cage where the flyback live. Why is this happening and what can we do to eliminate this problem? Thank you.
Old 10-29-2017, 01:12 PM
The Resident Brony

Well, I'm no expert, but I'd imagine whatever the plate cap is connected to is probably open. So that should be the flyback, right? Bad flyback?
Old 10-29-2017, 01:29 PM
M is for Memory

If you have light on the screen (heck even arcing off the 1B3 top cap) the flyback is fine...

Run the set with the cage off to determine exactly which to points the arc is jumping between and report back.

If it will not arc with the cage off because it is arcing to the cage then you need to clean the surfaces and area around the arcing points...Eliminate any sharp/pointy edges at the arcing points and possibly add insulation.

Pictures of the places it is arcing from and the condition of the HV cage and it's contents of will help in providing less general advice.

Zenith: The quality stays in EVEN after the name falls off!
What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4
Old 10-29-2017, 06:00 PM
VideoKarma Member

Maybe lots of dust on top of the 1b3 or the cage .
Old 10-29-2017, 08:52 PM
VideoKarma Member