Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Antique phonographs

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2013, 01:16 PM
bgk283's Avatar
bgk283 bgk283 is offline
Nipper Rules
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Long Island,N Y
Posts: 189
rca victor 1vf-306 reverb

I picked this up a couple of years ago with an interesting back story, I bought it from a cameraman who worked on the HBO series The Sopranos, it was a set piece from the show. When i got it home i found it had provisions for a reverb unit and thought i would never find one, also hearing stories about how they didnt really sound all that great. Well, one surfaced on Ebay and i thought what the hell might be cool. The reverb unit was unbelievably, new in the box ,all parts present, i set it up mounted it in and it was literally a plug and play. Im sure audiophiles would laugh, but i love that sound, its like an old AM radio station i listened to when i was a kid, anyway, here are some pictures. Bruce
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P3250386.jpg (115.1 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg P3250387.jpg (92.7 KB, 24 views)
File Type: jpg P3250388.jpg (103.3 KB, 24 views)
File Type: jpg P3250389.jpg (71.1 KB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg P3250390.jpg (95.2 KB, 36 views)
File Type: jpg P3250391.jpg (49.9 KB, 20 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2013, 01:53 PM
Chip Chester Chip Chester is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 623
AM stations and reverb... crikey.
I recorded a voiceover session 25 years ago with an announcer from the local old-school AM radio station. He was the talent, with no real input to the production other than to read the script he was given, in the way the producer told him to. (I believe the technical term was meat puppet. ) Anyway, he went on and on about how the spot should be recorded with reverb, because it 'lends credibility' to the content. As in, make the recording with reverb on the track, and pretty darn loud, so we couldn't take it off or adjust it in the mix. Which is, of course, nuts. The producer and I shared that opinion with him. In that session, we learned other reasons why he didn't get out much, and nobody used him: he couldn't pronounce certain words. The script contained the word 'profitability', which he continually pronounced 'profability'. And he would swear he was saying it correctly. Tape didn't lie, however. Maybe the reverb at the station covered up his poor diction.

Sorry for the wayback machine, there.

It seems like the reverb unit would have a big following in the old-school guitar amp crowd. Is it a spring unit inside?

Chip
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2013, 01:59 PM
bgk283's Avatar
bgk283 bgk283 is offline
Nipper Rules
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Long Island,N Y
Posts: 189
reverb

Yeah, its an amplifier and spring tank, mounted on the right, and the reverb amp is on the left.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-2013, 08:57 PM
truetone36's Avatar
truetone36 truetone36 is offline
electronics packrat
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jefferson City, TN
Posts: 931
I have two consoles with reverb, a Motorola and a Silvertone.
__________________
Dumont-First with the finest in television.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.