Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Recorded Video

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 01-25-2016, 11:13 AM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
I have little experience and don't have a manual. Yes, that's exactly it. Sometimes, the unit turns off during those clicking sessions. Where is the FL switch usually located?

Thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-25-2016, 12:03 PM
Blast's Avatar
Blast Blast is offline
blast, blast...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 130
If memory serves its on the front load mech itself, right side. You should see wires leading to it.
Know that the FL needs to be installed in exactly the spot it is now so don't pull it without studying it. A specific tooth of the 'rack' goes in a specific place in the gear.
I feel like I'm handing you a firearm...
And, that it's been 15 years since I shot one only a few times...
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-26-2016, 11:28 AM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
Ok, I took this thing out.





I cleaned the bulb and the hole it peeks through. It seemed pretty clean already as in the picture. I fired it up, but it still stops. Your description is perfect, it's just as if the stop button is pressed.

EDIT: Ok, I can't get it back in so for diagnostics I put the slider all the way at the end. It seems to be playing fine now. So is the switch broken?

EDIT: OK, I put it back in. The VCR seems to be playing fine now. I'll let this thread know what happens.

If it still misbehaves, how can I clean the slider sensor? That seems to be the cause. Deoxit?

Last edited by Outland; 02-11-2016 at 02:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-26-2016, 12:54 PM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
It works!

I didn't even do anything. All I did was take out the sliding sensor and put it back in.

Blast, I have no idea how you did that. 15 years is a long time.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-26-2016, 01:06 PM
Blast's Avatar
Blast Blast is offline
blast, blast...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 130
Hmmm... On one hand it's not "fixed" in the professional sense. On the other, it may be "fixed" enough for the tech being the end user (and, 25 years later).

The professional "fix" was to replace the switch. The semi-professional "fix" was to open the switch and clean it out. Back then I may have used head cleaner, don't remember. Today? Fader Lube? I don't know. Ed? Others?
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #21  
Old 01-26-2016, 01:09 PM
Blast's Avatar
Blast Blast is offline
blast, blast...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 130
It's not the "bulb". It's the slide switch. You can't tell anything from the outside. It's the inside where the electrical connections are made.
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-26-2016, 01:36 PM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
I can use Deoxit on it if it starts acting up again. I assume new parts are non-existant.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-08-2016, 10:24 PM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
Blast was, once again, completely right. The switch started acting up again. How do I repair it properly? It is sealed pretty tight as can be seen in the photo.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-11-2016, 02:41 AM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
I couldn't figure out how to open the switch because it is sealed, so I used deoxit on it. Seems to work ok now again, but it might start acting up again. Is it possible to buy a new/working one?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-17-2016, 11:49 PM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
The switch is still causing problems. It seems that right after deoxing it, it works fine (meaning it can get through playing/recording a full-length tape). Afterwards, it's anyone's guess. It still stops randomly/doesn't eject/all sensor problems.

When it works, it works quite well.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #26  
Old 09-18-2016, 03:22 AM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
Well, it just completely died.

I took it apart to clean the mode switch this time. Plugged it in and ejected the tape. Located the mode switch and put a little deoxit into it. Try to do something, and find the unit completely dead.

Plug out and in. No effect. No lights, no nothing. What the heck?!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-18-2016, 08:24 AM
walterbeers walterbeers is offline
Old TVs are better!
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 448
Sounds like something you might have accidentally shorted something in the process of taking things apart and caused a short, blowing a fuse in the power supply. Also check the power supply for bad caps. However I vote for a bad mode switch. I've changed lots of these back when VCRs were popular as they caused lots of problems in many different models. I remember replacing the exact type of mode switch exactly like yours many times. Cleaning sometimes brings them back to operation. I doubt if it's the end of tape sensors as usually what happens is that it starts to play then stops and goes into rewind. Also counter belt. If counter doesn't run, it tells the processor that the tape isn't being taken up and causes it to stop. All of the suggestions above are possible reasons as to why the tape plays for a bit and stops. Sometimes VCRs are a nightmare to fix, and with so many out there, picking one up that works for cheap or even free might be an option. I think I have 3 of them here, that work, and didn't pay anything for them. I also have an old RCA piano key type VCR with only up to 4 hour mode, (one of the very early ones made by Panasonic) that if I ever get a chance to work on it, it want to fix it up just for nostalgia's sake.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-18-2016, 12:57 PM
centralradio centralradio is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 982
I would check all those circuit protector fuse that look like two legged transistors.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-02-2016, 05:41 AM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
There's a regular fuse that pops out, and it checks out OK. I can't see any other fuses. What do the transistor-type fuses look like?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-02-2016, 01:43 PM
centralradio centralradio is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outland View Post
There's a regular fuse that pops out, and it checks out OK. I can't see any other fuses. What do the transistor-type fuses look like?
They are called IC protectors and they look like a TO92 transistor with two or three legs like the photo below.

The part number usually starts with ICP-N or similar .

The 1990's Sony VCR I have here is loaded with them and took me for a loop until I checked them.

https://www.google.com/#q=to92+ic+protectors
Attached Images
File Type: jpg $_35.JPG (3.0 KB, 3 views)
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.