Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Recorded Video

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2016, 11:07 PM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
VCR Mechanism Doesn't Play

Hello,

My Panasonic PV-4060 VCR has stopped playing tapes. It loads the tapes, and will even play them for a few moments (with good image quality) until it stops. It also has trouble rewinding and fast forwarding, stopping randomly. Eventually I have to unplug the set for it to respond at all to commands.

With the cover off, it seems like everything is in order. Where can I start looking?

Last edited by Outland; 01-23-2016 at 06:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2016, 11:00 AM
Ed in Tx's Avatar
Ed in Tx Ed in Tx is offline
Zenith Walton My 1st TV
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,167
Operate it with the cover off and while playing observe the take-up reel, see if it's stalling causing it to stop. Might be a rubber idler or somesuch.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2016, 11:04 AM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
With the cover off, this is how it stops.

youtu.be/OqbOsY6nAVc

And this is the resultant clicking during which the mechanism won't respond to commands.

youtu.be/8HAyjs_QPdk

Sometimes it turns off at this point also.

Where is the rubber idler?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2016, 11:09 AM
dieseljeep dieseljeep is online now
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outland View Post
Hello,

My Panasonic PV-4060 VCR has stopped playing tapes. It loads the tapes, and will even play them for a few moments (with good image quality) until it stops. It also has trouble rewinding and fast forwarding, stopping randomly. Eventually I have to unplug the set for it to respond at all to commands.

With the cover off, it seems like everything is in order. Where can I start looking?
Did you watch the operation of the unit with the cover off?
Seems like the slack of the tape isn't being taken up. I don't remember if that model has an idler wheel or a gear. It's located between the two spindles. I don't miss working on those things.
I use VCR's a lot! If one gives me grief, I just grab another one off the pile, as I have several.
BTW, the condition your unit is in, could lead to damaged tapes!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2016, 11:16 AM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
Yeah, I posted videos in my last post.

There's nothing between the two spindles, so I guess the unit uses a gear.

I only have the one, but I only use it for the few tapes I don't have on DVD. I'll probably digitize them as soon as I get this VCR working again.

Here's a video of the unit being disassembled from someone else. You can see the lack of an idler wheel at 4:29.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eATL5x1hZQA
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 01-23-2016, 11:23 AM
Ed in Tx's Avatar
Ed in Tx Ed in Tx is offline
Zenith Walton My 1st TV
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,167
I guess you're on your own, or someone else with a YouTube acc't can help you. Your YouTube is private and I do not have a YouTube account any more.

Last edited by Ed in Tx; 01-23-2016 at 11:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2016, 11:26 AM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
Oops, that's an error. Should be public now.

EDIT: The issue has all the symptoms of a dirty/worn idler tire, but it doesn't seem like there is one.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2016, 11:34 AM
Ed in Tx's Avatar
Ed in Tx Ed in Tx is offline
Zenith Walton My 1st TV
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,167
Looks like a "G" chassis, which doesn't have an idler tire as I recall. It's got some other oddball problem. I'll have to think about it. Maybe someone with G chassis experience can offer an opinion too!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-23-2016, 11:47 AM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
I wish I wasn't so helpless, I don't even have a service manual to go on.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-23-2016, 12:37 PM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
I found this: http://www.science-bbs.com/72-electr...ae5c2f5178.htm.

Quote:
for intermittant mechanical operation check for bad mode switches
famous for going bad
and here: http://www.science-bbs.com/72-electr...4371422272.htm.

Quote:
I have several panasonic G chassis vcr's in the shop with the same problem. The
capstan motor hesitates to turn and the relay clicks intermittently. The tape
will and will not load at times.
Sounds familiar.

Quote:
Mode switch.
This is most likely your problem. G chassis are known for this problem.

On G-chassis with mechanical problems I usually replace all gears (about $15
a set). This guaranteed to fix most mechanical faults on G-chassis.
Where are the two mode switches?
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #11  
Old 01-23-2016, 05:50 PM
Gunslinger Gunslinger is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: west central florida
Posts: 215
Does that unit have a mechanical counter? If yes, look to see if the belt is slipping.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-23-2016, 06:02 PM
Sandy G's Avatar
Sandy G Sandy G is offline
Spiteful Old Cuss
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rogersville, Tennessee
Posts: 9,098
I never understood how those things worked anyway, what w/all those teeny-tiny parts...And all the Monkey-Motion they had to go thru..
__________________
Benevolent Despot
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-23-2016, 06:11 PM
Ed in Tx's Avatar
Ed in Tx Ed in Tx is offline
Zenith Walton My 1st TV
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,167
I can say these do NOT have the belt driven counter.

There is a slider switch on the FL assy and a rotary encoder switch down on the deck mechanism that turns with the cam gear, only two I recall. BUT!! You have never had a G chassis apart and don't have the manual and the mechanical timing is critical.

It almost sounds to me like power supply problems, these do have the SMPS power supply buried on the back. Like not enough current to power the motor and engage the mechanism control solenoid.. Should be a good solid 12V or 15V somewhere on a pin to the capstan or cylinder motors.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-24-2016, 11:58 AM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
Ed is right, no belt counter.

You're right, I'll do more damage than good. I'll check the voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-25-2016, 10:55 AM
Blast's Avatar
Blast Blast is offline
blast, blast...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 130
It's been too long since I worked on VCRs but I remember that G deck. Boy, do I remember it (the mechanism, in a general sense).
Also remember trying to find the very first instance of the complaint- It's just like someone presses the STOP button, isn't it? But, it's not the reel sensor.
Ed said something about the switch on the FL- isn't THAT the problem? Try cleaning that out.
If not, sorry. It's been at least 15 years for me.
Brian
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.