Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early Color Television

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2010, 04:56 PM
oldtvsandtoy's Avatar
oldtvsandtoy oldtvsandtoy is offline
Nyuk Nyuk Nyuk
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Clinton Township , Michigan
Posts: 598
CTC5 Almost working

Ok I need some help. This set has been recapped and the tubes checked. It didnt do this until after the recap. The picture is not rolling, I just have one picture on the bottom and the same one on the upper 1/3 of the screen. Where would you look? If you can tell me with a print that would help even more Thanks. Dont worry about the color I have not messed with that yet. Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 100_0871.jpg (64.0 KB, 204 views)
__________________
i'm a victim of coicumstance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2010, 05:19 PM
Einar72's Avatar
Einar72 Einar72 is offline
Chasin roundies since '79
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Federal Way, Washington
Posts: 940
Does anything change when you adjust the AGC control?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2010, 06:51 PM
oldtvsandtoy's Avatar
oldtvsandtoy oldtvsandtoy is offline
Nyuk Nyuk Nyuk
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Clinton Township , Michigan
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by einar72 View Post
does anything change when you adjust the agc control?
r3 right will try that on tuesday and let you know thanks
__________________
i'm a victim of coicumstance

Last edited by oldtvsandtoy; 08-30-2010 at 08:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-30-2010, 08:16 PM
Einar72's Avatar
Einar72 Einar72 is offline
Chasin roundies since '79
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Federal Way, Washington
Posts: 940
Had to think about that one, I haven't been in front of one in some time! It should be behind the control door in front, it will be one shaft of a concentric-shaft pot. If it eludes you, post a photo of the control area and I'll spot it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-30-2010, 09:05 PM
miniman82's Avatar
miniman82 miniman82 is offline
First Light: 1952-2011
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 4,088
I can make mine look like that if I crank up the AGC and mess with the fine tuning...
__________________
Evolution...
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 08-30-2010, 10:02 PM
old_tv_nut's Avatar
old_tv_nut old_tv_nut is offline
See yourself on Color TV!
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Rancho Sahuarita
Posts: 4,324
AGC or sync problem might make it sync off center, but it would probably not be stable - I think the vertical must be running at the wrong frequency, like half-rate or something.

Suggestions:
Check resistor values in the vertical section, especially the vert hold control. Recheck that you got the right cap values in the vertical section when you recapped.
Check C511 =.033 and C512 = 0.33 (and not swapped)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2010, 10:43 PM
bgadow's Avatar
bgadow bgadow is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Federalsburg, MD
Posts: 5,410
That would be my first step. When I recapped my CTC-5 I put one end of a cap (on the horizontal board) through the wrong hole. It took me years to figure that out! The result of that 1/4" mistake was a horizontal frequency that ran way too low and so no HV.
__________________
Bryan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-31-2010, 07:55 PM
oldtvsandtoy's Avatar
oldtvsandtoy oldtvsandtoy is offline
Nyuk Nyuk Nyuk
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Clinton Township , Michigan
Posts: 598
CTC5 Almost working

Ok thanks for all the help. I now have only one picture. Its a little to the left and cant move it with the controls. Now it time to go after the color. Any suggestions? Its not very nice right now.
__________________
i'm a victim of coicumstance
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-31-2010, 09:31 PM
rcafan rcafan is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: West Bloomfield, MI
Posts: 118
offset picture

I read the post as the picture is ,correct but off centered to the left,try and adjust the horiz. freq knob in the pencil box on the front of the set.
On the back of the chassis try rotating the color killer control
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-31-2010, 09:36 PM
miniman82's Avatar
miniman82 miniman82 is offline
First Light: 1952-2011
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 4,088
Looks like horiz centering to me, but I'm unfamiliar with the 5.
__________________
Evolution...
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #11  
Old 08-31-2010, 09:58 PM
Eric H's Avatar
Eric H Eric H is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 11,300
That picture look like you have Chroma but no Luminance?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:20 PM
old_tv_nut's Avatar
old_tv_nut old_tv_nut is offline
See yourself on Color TV!
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Rancho Sahuarita
Posts: 4,324
This set has three controls mounted on the high voltage cage
left: width
center: horizontal centering
right: focus

Regarding the picture quality, it does look like a luminance problem - too little contrast and too much brightness.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:48 PM
old_coot88 old_coot88 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,851
Sure looks like loss of luminance signal. A dirty service switch can cause this, but I believe this set is too old to have a service switch. A heater-cathode short in the CRT can cause it, and will usually show up by tapping the neck of the tube. Gently of course. Bill(oc)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-01-2010, 12:15 PM
oldtvman's Avatar
oldtvman oldtvman is offline
Larry Melton (oldtvman)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mishawaka, Indiana
Posts: 717
check power supply first

before doing anything else check all the legs on the power supply and then move on to individual circuit. Looks like you have at least two separate problems luminance and agc.
__________________
[IMG]
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-01-2010, 12:23 PM
oldtvman's Avatar
oldtvman oldtvman is offline
Larry Melton (oldtvman)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mishawaka, Indiana
Posts: 717
no service switch on ctc 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by old_coot88 View Post
Sure looks like loss of luminance signal. A dirty service switch can cause this, but I believe this set is too old to have a service switch. A heater-cathode short in the CRT can cause it, and will usually show up by tapping the neck of the tube. Gently of course. Bill(oc)
I don't think the service switch was added until ctc 11 or 12
__________________
[IMG]
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.