Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Recorded Video

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 01-14-2023, 03:54 PM
VideoKarma Member

Analog video recording principles

First off, thanks to everyone who have been answering my questions about analog video recording formats. I re-read the answers and digged into a couple of books, but I still have questions!

I would appreciate if someone fills the blanks in my understanding of video signal modulation, storage, bandwidth, resolution, etc taking into account that I am not an electronics engineer and don't plan to become one, just want to have a little clearer understanding of how things work and why one format is better than another.

I've been reading some introductory texts on the topics of analog radio, television and color-under recording systems. I'll go with what I've learned (or I think I've learned), and please correct me where I am wrong.

First, how many samples per second we need to send, this is a rather simple idea: take frame size times frames per second, say 525 lines total, 4/3 aspect ratio with square pixels will give 525 * 4/3 = 700 samples per line, time 30 fps: 525*700*30 = 11 million samples per second.

Each wave period has two half periods, and I thought that each of them could be used to describe brightness of a pixel, so 11 million / 2 = 5.5 MHz. At this point I had a naive idea of how things work, I thought that this wave can be manipulated (a.k.a. modulated) so that amplitude of the each of its half-periods could be increased or decreased, this would give us 5.5 million unique samples. Based on this, I could not understand why do we need a RANGE of frequencies, why we cannot use ONE frequency modulated this way.