Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Diagnostic & Test Equipment

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 06-28-2017, 04:43 PM
VideoKarma Member

Broken, Please help!: Sencore Super Mack

Hey, I recently picked up a super mack from a local store for $20, and it seems to be broken. Thankfully, I received all the tips, with a few extras, and a setup chart. However, when I turn it on, and turn up the filament voltage, the meter displays nothing. no matter what I do it seems to be dead. the light comes on on the side it is switched to, and it seems to power up, however I do not want to plug it into my TV without a readout on the filament voltage in the odd event it would destroy the quite nice picture tube in it. I am a relative novice with test equipment, and would love to get this working. I have not opened it up yet either. just looking to get more info on hopefully fixing it first. Thanks in advance for any info.
Old 06-28-2017, 05:26 PM
VideoKarma Member

I don't know that tester, I guess it a CRT tester, it may be a problem with the meter circuit. I that case it could be putting out a higher voltage than you would want to put on the CRT. That wouldn't be an 'odd event', its a real possibility. Do you have a voltmeter you can use to check the voltage at the CRT socket?
Old 06-28-2017, 07:09 PM
Technohippie

Check for filament voltage between pins 1 and 11 on the 11 pin adapter cable.

If present, suspect a problem in the metering circuit.

If not present, look for a fault in the filament transformer, filament selector switch, life test switch, or filament set pot and associated 15K resistor.

The "CRT Test" and "Beam Builder" lights are fed from a separate transformer than the CRT filament.
Old 07-08-2017, 10:18 PM
VideoKarma Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike52787 View Post
I am a relative novice with test equipment, and would love to get this working.