Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > General Off Topic Forums

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 05-27-2023, 06:10 AM
I love old stuff

Very old elevators, still in original form

Years ago (2004 or 2005), when I worked as a courier on bicycle I had the chance to ride an vintage elevator. Very small one, 2 persons only. Most pre-communist apartament (flat) buildings in Bucharest had 3 persons elevator (lifts), some 2 persons and very rare 4 persons elevators (I lived up untill age of 5 in one, but the elevator isn't the original one... do know about the "service" elevator). Well, the elevator was original because it moved slowly, even slower then the 1963 elevators. And old man told me that the elevator was original. I coulnd't be 100% procent original, because in the '60's or early '70's the enegine was switched from 208 Volts to 380 Volts - in Bucharest, when that bulding was constructed, the voltage was 208/120 Volts, not 380/220 Volts - only outiside the city (excepting Băneasa, now part of Bucharest) they introduced 380/220 Volts from the begining.
The elevator dosen't works nowdays...
Oh, this elevator was installed or bought probably by some brothers wo today would have a quite obscene name (no joke).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qn1udxxbzDU&t=21s

Here is an "Otis". Yes, the famous company. Too bad that the calling panel (do you have in English the expression "calling the elevator" are not originals, beeing replaced in the '60's probably. But the sign of the company put down... wow!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W6WT...YXJhZ2lhbGU%3D