Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > General Off Topic Forums

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 03-29-2013, 10:08 AM
Dangler's Avatar
Dangler Dangler is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Douglas,Wyoming
Posts: 324
I did as well, for a couple of hours in the evening.
__________________
" I'm gonna fix that one of these days"
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-02-2014, 12:20 PM
walterbeers walterbeers is offline
Old TVs are better!
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 450
Never have had a problem posting on Video Karma. Thanks so much to those who keep the website going.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-24-2014, 01:46 PM
EdKozk2 EdKozk2 is offline
Tinker
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Elkhorn, WI
Posts: 480
Hi ,
Is there a time out/ limit to how the VK wesite will stay logged in? When I try to submit a post I get the I'm not logged in error message. Maybe I,m taking too long type, distractions/ honey do list etc.
Thanks,
Ed
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-24-2014, 05:17 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 9,607
When you log on check the 'Remember me' box.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-24-2014, 09:08 PM
Dude111 Dude111 is offline
Analogue is Awesome
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,802
Indeed so..... This was the stupidist thing Vbulletin ever did! (Version 3.5)

So many ppl have had problems after they did this and its sad......
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #36  
Old 03-24-2014, 09:12 PM
Jon A.'s Avatar
Jon A. Jon A. is offline
Don't mess with Esther.
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,093
I'm almost always logged in, but whenever I decide to clean out my browser I have to log back in twice, regardless of the "remember me" check box. On a side note, VK posting at the library is a royal pain as Firefox is set on private browsing by default and I don't think there's any way to change it, resulting in my getting logged out repeatedly.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 03-24-2014, 09:56 PM
EdKozk2 EdKozk2 is offline
Tinker
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Elkhorn, WI
Posts: 480
Thanks for the follow up, I thought it was just me.
Ed
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 03-24-2014, 11:43 PM
bandersen's Avatar
bandersen bandersen is online now
Restoring Admiral T2301
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,296
There's a vBulletin Admin setting for the session timeout. It must be set to something very short like 5 minutes,

Quote:
Originally Posted by KV-1926R View Post
I'm almost always logged in, but whenever I decide to clean out my browser I have to log back in twice, regardless of the "remember me" check box...
You're probably cleaning our your browser cookies. Try just cleaning just the cache instead.
__________________
Here are my Vintage Radio & TV YouTube Channel and Photo Gallery
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 03-25-2014, 12:05 AM
Jon A.'s Avatar
Jon A. Jon A. is offline
Don't mess with Esther.
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by bandersen View Post
There's a vBulletin Admin setting for the session timeout. It must be set to something very short like 5 minutes,

You're probably cleaning our your browser cookies. Try just cleaning just the cache instead.
I knew that, I just hose everything rather than going through the trouble of separating the wheat from the chaff. Re-doing my logins once in a blue moon doesn't bother me. A system crash when I was on dial-up, now that sucked as it would wipe out my cache. I haven't had a crash since updating this from Firefox 3.6 to TenFourFox.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 09-09-2014, 09:20 AM
jhalphen's Avatar
jhalphen jhalphen is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 350
VK Forums Access Woes

Hello Mr Webmaster.

On a very old computer (Win 98SE) FireFox V2.xx can't access the forums.
To be more precise, the forum site or a sub-forum never load into the navigator.

This happened previously about 6 months ago, probably a compatibility issue with a forum software upgrade, then worked again after about a 10 day wait.

I am writing this message from an XP machine.

I apologize for requesting compatibilty with a very old clunker but these old tower computers are much more reliable than today's 2-3 year lasting machines.

Thanks! for your help,

Best Regards

jhalphen
Paris/France
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #41  
Old 09-09-2014, 09:27 AM
Kamakiri's Avatar
Kamakiri Kamakiri is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Buffalo, New York
Posts: 5,048
The computer I'm running is an 11 year old Dell Dimension 8300 2.7 GHz with XP. Never have issues with it.

How's it work with IE?
__________________
"Restoring a tube TV is like going to war. A color one is like a land war in Asia."
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 09-09-2014, 09:53 AM
drussell drussell is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Indeed so..... This was the stupidist thing Vbulletin ever did! (Version 3.5)

So many ppl have had problems after they did this and its sad......
Quote:
Originally Posted by bandersen View Post
There's a vBulletin Admin setting for the session timeout. It must be set to something very short like 5 minutes
Indeed... It would be greatly appreciated if the site administrators would crank that up from whatever ridiculously low value it's currently set to. Sometimes you may not wish to use the "Remember Me" feature for various reasons and it is rather annoying to have to log back in repeatedly every few minutes.

I realize it might cause extra server load/memory usage tracking extra active sessions if it were set way too high but I can't imagine with the this site's apparent load that it would be a problem if it were something like 30 minutes to an hour or even more, although even 15 minutes would be an improvement if it's necessary to keep it relatively low for some reason.

"Thanks, Admins!" for all your efforts that make the site run smoothly!
Keep up the great work!
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 09-09-2014, 10:22 AM
jhalphen's Avatar
jhalphen jhalphen is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 350
VK Forums Access Woes

Hi Kamakiri,

Thanks! for the reply.

The XP machine is a NetBook PC running FireFox 32.0 and works well.
This is the one i am using to communicate with right now.

The old machine is WIN 98-SE running FireFox V2.00.20 and won't connect.
IE is V5.5 and won't connect either. Being limited to FireFox versions compatible with WIN98SE, i can't upgrade the browser.

By won't connect i mean this: if you're already displaying a web site and call up VK via a Favorites link, the page will never load.

The Favorites are not corrupted, none of the VK forums nor the main site page can be loaded.

The same thing happened 6 months ago, then was resolved, probably because someone else also had connection problems.

Best Regards

jhalphen
Paris/France
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 09-09-2014, 12:52 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 9,607
If you have (or can upgrade the hardware to have) enough ram and disk space on that 98 machine it might not be a bad idea to upgrade it to XP. I used to have a 98 machine and did the upgrade a year ago as the 98 I had was so slow it was effectively unusable.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 09-10-2014, 03:21 AM
jhalphen's Avatar
jhalphen jhalphen is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 350
Hi Electronic_M,

The machine is powerful enough for XP: Pentium IV 2GHz, Asus P4B-266 motherboard, Mega-tower format, 3x 120GB HDD, 3.5" floppy, Asus CD-ROM, LiteOn 48x CD-Burner, DVD via SCSI, G-Force graphics.
2GB RAM but i would add more (WIN98SE wouldn't allow that).

My concerns:
- Buying XP today, preferably a french version, i need the AZERTY keyboard with accented characters for text work.

XP not being supported by Microsoft any more, what about the final registration of the OS?

Would this imply the need of a "cracked" version?

Best Regards

jhalphen
Paris/France
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.