Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early Color Television

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 07-29-2015, 09:49 PM
First Light: 1952-2011

Gilfillan Prototype Set

Sorry this took so long, been busy as heck at work getting ready for various inspections.

Here's the 21" color prototype I won at this years convention auction, in all its 300lb wood cased glory, enjoy.

Unfortunately the CRT is dead, pay no attention to the tag.

Old 07-29-2015, 10:04 PM
VideoKarma Member

I love the style of the set.. Probably one of the most earliest sets I really like.. Just not too crazy about doors being on a TV set... What year you think it's from?
Old 07-29-2015, 11:04 PM
complete novice

Shes lovely, great score
Old 07-30-2015, 02:00 AM
Another CT-100 lives!

Very nice-looking set, Nick. Is that a hinged panel giving access to the underside of the chassis on the side? I have seen a similar feature on a Hoffman Colorcaster 4021A from 1955. That appears to be an original design as opposed to a CTC-4 or 21-CT-55 duplicate.

Quote from another forum: "(Antique TV collecting) always seemed to me to be a fringe hobby that only weirdos did."
Old 07-30-2015, 10:42 AM
VideoKarma Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisW6ATV View Post
Very nice-looking set, Nick. Is that a hinged panel giving access to the underside of the chassis on the side? I have seen a similar feature on a Hoffman Colorcaster 4021A from 1955. That appears to be an original design as opposed to a CTC-4 or 21-CT-55 duplicate.
Gilfillan was always a higher end product. I didn't remember them making television sets, let alone color sets.
I was surprised to see they used that el-cheapo Sarkes-Tarzian tuner.
The same PITA tuner that Warwick used in the Silvertones in the mid-50's.
Audiokarma
Old 07-30-2015, 11:56 AM
<----Zenith C845