Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early Color Television

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 12-08-2014, 03:58 PM
VideoKarma Member

Twitchy RCA CTC17 1966 Screen

This is my first time posting, so hi everyone! I recently acquired an awesome RCA CTC17 1966 television from a guy locally (Damen, he's the one who told me about this place). He has been awesome about helping out when I have questions, but I realize that if I want to keep this television for the long haul, I need to figure out what I am doing, or at least find the place to pick the brains of true experts. I know old portable manual typewriters pretty well, but this expertise is not transferring I'm afraid. Overall, the set is running solid. It has the same picture tube installed from 1969 (still had service paperwork!), which was apparently a replacement for the one that it came with. Damen replaced the melted flyback when he got it with a used one that still works. After talking about pros and cons, he recommended cutting a hole in the flyback's casing to allow dissipation of heat to lengthen its life, and I installed a good fan on the opposite side, which is keeping things cool overall. The test that Damen ran on the tube showed that it still had life left in it, so perhaps the flyback died back in the day and they decided to get a new set and store this one.

The only issue I am having now is that the screen is very twitchy, or sort of snap compressing from the bottom upwards. Damen and I are going to check some things this weekend, but I thought I'd post here in advance. Here is a pic.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_w...ew?usp=sharing I tried all of the tuning settings on the front and carefully adjusted the hold on the back, to no avail.