Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Antique Radio

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 09-17-2007, 03:52 PM
AK Member

AM/FM mono radio information

Hi All,

I've been reading on and off about about AA5 radios on this site:

http://www.funwithtubes.net/

It seems to me (total novice) to be quite informative, but it deals almost exclusively with mini tube AM radios.

Are there any sites that that explain or break down AM/FM units?

I'd like to know more about Octal tube (early?) and mini-tube (later?) AM/FM radios, thier differences, similarities and relative merits.

R/

Jim
Old 09-17-2007, 05:55 PM
VideoKarma Member

AA5's are cool, but they're not isolated from the AC mains, so use care. Better yet, use an isolating transformer, especially when servicing!

They're fun to collect!

http://www.angelfire.com/electronic/...bes/AA5-1.html
http://antiqueradios.com/chrs/journal/aa5.html
http://www.rwonline.com/pages/s.0053/t.849.html
Old 09-17-2007, 09:38 PM
Audiophool

Almost all FM tube radios used miniature tubes, as they were introduced about the same time as the modern FM band, and the smaller size is better for high frequencies. I have a 1946 radio that usees MOSTLY octal tubes - the RF amp stage being an exception. Zenith and Stromberg Carlson made some of the better early FM radios - many Stromberg schematics on my website: http://www.audiophool.cjb.net/MadeInRoch.html

The 12SA7 / 12BE6 converter tube used in AM radios makes a LOUSY converter at 100 MHz, but some used it anyway. A much better circuit is the dual triode oscillator/mixer, using 12AT7, 12DT8, 17EW8 - tubes designed for high frequency use.
Old 09-18-2007, 07:14 AM
VideoKarma Member

speaking of AM/FM transformerless sets... there's always this guy, which actually has an outboard speaker (not shown) and MPX stereo. It's got aux inputs, too, but I don't think a sane person would use them :-)