Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early Color Television

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 12-13-2006, 12:29 PM
VK Member

New Guy Here with a CTC-5 "Wescott"

Hello guys. I am new to this TV collecting thing. Actually I just have one. I picked this CTC-5 RCA "Wescott" Color TV up at an estate sale last week for 5 dollars. I almost passed on it until I realized it was a 50's color TV and thought it might be sort of rare. It is mint with not a scratch on it. I am trying to make a 50's room in my house and this would be a great addition. I have not tried to turn it on yet I want someone to test and look at it first. Does anyone know if there is a TV guy in Michigan that would work on it. Here are a few pictures of it. Also any history or info on this TV would be a great help. Thanks Guys.
IMG_9209.jpg

IMG_9210.jpg

IMG_9211.jpg

IMG_9212.jpg
Old 12-13-2006, 12:35 PM
Spiteful Old Cuss

Welcome to AK, pal ! DON'T turn this baby on until its been checked out by somebody who knows what he's doing-it will undoubtedly need re-capping, possibly a tube or 2.
Old 12-13-2006, 12:42 PM
VK Member

I don't plan on it. I do have a mountain of tubes. I checked a local TV repair place that has been in bussiness for years and the guy said he would check it out for me. He seem to be excited about looking at it.
Old 12-13-2006, 01:53 PM
roundie not so n00b

who wouldnt be excited
Old 12-13-2006, 02:00 PM
VideoKarma Member

---

Last edited by andy; 12-07-2021 at 02:18 PM.
Audiokarma
Old 12-13-2006, 03:06 PM
VideoKarma Member

Wow, that's a great score. Santa came early this year!

Ed Reitan's website has a lot of info about early color TVs:

http://www.novia.net/~ereitan/index.html

If you go to the Color Receiver Gallery, you'll see a product brochure for your TV and a few details about that model.