Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Antique phonographs

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2017, 04:57 PM
inthedirt inthedirt is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
Vm 1245/1266

Greetings!

Recently picked up an old Fisher console dug out of my grandparents basement. The TV and related wiring has been disposed of, but the tube amps, am/fm Hi-Fi, and turntable are still there. The original tube amps and speakers are also there. I know some of the tubes are clearly missing and I don't want to get into a rebuild on those right now. In the meantime, I've purchased a tube pre-amp for phono and a small SS amp to play through the speakers (2-10s, 2-4in mids, & 2-3in tweets).

My question is for all the VM experts: on the bottom of the player is a flat plug with 3 wires running to the tube amp. I need to know what these 3 wires actually do (red, black, & white). I have separate RCA connections for line out, so I'm guessing they are for power? Please advise.....I don't want to blow anything up! I ordered a service manual from The Voice of Music, but it doesn't specify the information I'm looking for. Thanks for helping.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2017, 07:20 PM
broadcaster broadcaster is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 116
That plug is for the AC power, ad off/on switch
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2017, 07:53 PM
Olorin67 Olorin67 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 906
2 wires for power, and one wire to power the am, that way the amp would shut off when the records were done. you can get a cord that plugs right into that connector at the voice of music website
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-29-2017, 11:00 AM
inthedirt inthedirt is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
I have the connector for the player, but it runs back into one of the tube amps. I spent time last night tracing wires and on Google to glean additional info. The original AC plug is non-polarized and has one line going directly to the motor, and the other going to the on/off switch for the TT. Now that I understand the wiring, here is my plan:

The console has all of the original amps, speakers, tuner, etc. still installed, but just the TV and related wiring has been removed. I would like to keep it as original looking as possible, so my tube preamp and SS amp will remain hidden. The on/off switch and all console controls are still present and wired up. I would like to wire the TT AC up to the original console on/off switch and keep the preamp/SS amp wired to a separate power strip hidden inside the console. This way, it still appears to onlookers that the unit is functioning as originally designed. I'm not sure that the original power switch can handle straight 110v or if it is relayed. Guess I have some more investigating to do.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2017, 12:23 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is online now
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 9,015
In the 60's and earlier power relays were almost unheard of.

Personally, I think you'd be better off replacing the caps on the original amp/preamp chassis. Get a Sam's photofact for it, order caps based on the parts list, and solder them in....When I have the chassis for such a set on my bench I normally have the caps changed in under 4 hours....Can be 30 minutes or less if I'm focused and on a roll (especially simple chassis).

Audio circuits are not terribly picky...If the tubes are good (likely), the resistors can be off tolerance and many things can be a good ways off of ideal, and the effect on performance may not be noticeable.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 11-29-2017, 01:09 PM
inthedirt inthedirt is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
I didnt understand a word of that..........

Extreme noob when it comes to tube gear. Looks like I'll be spending more time on the interwebs.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-07-2017, 01:54 PM
DavGoodlin's Avatar
DavGoodlin DavGoodlin is offline
Motorola Minion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: near Strasburg PA
Posts: 2,714
What model Fisher is this? I never heard of a TV in a Fisher console.
__________________
"When resistors increase in value, they're worthless"
-Dave G
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-11-2017, 11:35 AM
KentTeffeteller's Avatar
KentTeffeteller KentTeffeteller is offline
Gimpus Stereophilus!
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Athens, TN
Posts: 521
There was one Fisher Console with a TV, the Living Voice.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.