Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > General Off Topic Forums

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 06-30-2017, 09:28 AM
VideoKarma Member

Going for my general's license July 15th

Wish me luck! I studied, and now I've been practicing the exam, and making sure I learn WHY the answer is why it is, not just memorizing it.
Old 06-30-2017, 10:08 AM
Zenith Walton My 1st TV

Lucky you! I had to pass 13 words per minute (wpm) code to get mine. Then I took another written to get my Advanced class, but they did away with that license class. Took me 6 weeks of continuous practicing code listening to tapes, went from zero to over 13 wpm, then I never used code again. When they lowered the code requirement on the Extra to 5 wpm, all I needed was the Extra written part. I wish I had kept up code practice but it's pretty much gone now. Like keeping up a foreign language.

Good luck btw.
Old 06-30-2017, 10:14 AM
VideoKarma Member

I might try and learn code just to do it, but with computers, it's almost a moot point. A computer can read and generate CW just fine, but computers of course can go down, so learning how to do it properly is another thing altogether.
Old 06-30-2017, 10:24 AM
VideoKarma Member

Yep, if you don't just memorize you won't forget it when the time comes. Some drilling doesn't hurt either, once I felt I had the material down I got an app on my phone and drilled, drilled drilled.

What are your plans for getting on the air? Do you have an HF rig already? I get into FL decently on 20 meters so maybe we can have a QSO sometime.

Good luck on the test!
Old 06-30-2017, 10:35 AM
VideoKarma Member

I don't have any rig currently.. I have a 10 meter radio, but it only has FM modulation, so it's basically useless for anything real.
Audiokarma
Old 06-30-2017, 07:32 PM
<----Zenith C845

Quote:
Originally Posted by lnx64 View Post