Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early B&W and Projection TV

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 05-11-2011, 01:49 AM
complete novice

making progress? on my '50 motorola 12T3

In a nut shell, ive mostly recapped this old girl. Now its come down to the cans, well thats my problem. Id seen one taken apart before and it had individual caps in it. I replaced the first one that had only two wires to it and one value written on it, relocated that to the far back of the chassis as both wires were right there, so it seemed odd to keep it in the stock location. Then i drilled the rivets out to the another which had four values written on it, thinking it would just have individual caps in it and yes, i now realize how dumb i was when i opened it up.

Well im unsure of where to go from here now. The schematics are pretty much greek to me. Ive marked the wires that went to each terminal, but.. No idea where they DO go. Ive an uncle who repaired tv sets in the 60s, im debating on bribing him with a bottle of scotch to help me with this puzzle.

Any idea of where i should go from here?

Old 05-11-2011, 02:07 AM
console lover

You'll be much better off learning to read the schematic. Mistakes happen, so it puts you in a bad spot if you can't verify the way you have things connected against the way they're drawn.
Old 05-11-2011, 02:22 AM
VideoKarma Member

I have copious documentation of the 12T2/12T3. Sams, Rider's, and a gazillion photos of the chassis. I'm too sleepy to give a rational response right now, but here's a link to a Picasaweb album, and I'll follow up with specific information as soon as I can.

https://picasaweb.google.com/coldrb/...eat=directlink

-Winky
Old 05-11-2011, 03:11 AM
RCA 741PCS

Is that the TS-53 chassis ? I have the one from my 12K2 up on the bench right now, but haven't touched anything yet.

Would some reference photos of it help you ?
Old 05-11-2011, 06:11 AM