Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Antique Radio

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 03-22-2016, 06:12 PM
self-help dreams

Tips for a new antique radio collector?

Hi friends! I am an amateur antique TV enthusiast and I have a small collection -- don't want to talk too much about it since so many people here must have better collections! -- but I am thinking to branch out to antique radio as well.

The problem is I know very little about antique radio. Can any of you give me any starting out tips for this?

Any help is super appreciated! Thanks!
Old 03-22-2016, 07:04 PM
TheUniversalDave1

Ah yes, I remember being a newbie. My advice to you is - see if you have a local radio club. Join and make friends with the guys there. When you get an antique radio that you want to fix, start out slow. Check the tubes, replace caps, etc. There are countless Youtube videos on all sorts of vintage radios. I have learned more in three years from watching Youtube and going to my radio club than I could have ever imagined. But be careful - radios multiply much faster than TV's!

Last edited by TUD1; 01-30-2017 at 05:04 PM.
Old 03-22-2016, 07:16 PM
self-help dreams

Thanks that's a great idea! I will have too look around now for a radio club!

Edit: Wow, found a club with a quick google search. Should have thought of that earlier, thanks TUD1!
Old 03-23-2016, 12:20 AM
VideoKarma Member

Exclamation Addicting...