Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > The Amateur Radio Spot

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 02-05-2011, 07:26 PM
Here's looking at you kid

Need an AM transmitter Recommendation

I have volunteered to setup an AM transmitter for our church and need some recommendations for a decent transmitter.

I have little experience with these and need some advice as to brand, product satisfaction and real world use. Needs to cover an area of about 6600 sq. ft and be able to transmit from second floor of a two story building...probably a maximum of 500 feet in any direction. Sound quality is important.

I have been looking at:

http://www.sstran.com/ and

http://www.ramseyelectronics.com/hk/....asp?page=amfm

Just want to be sure I not missing something...thanks for any advice or experience.

My apology if this is in the wrong forum. Moderators--if post needs to be moved to another forum please do so.

Last edited by Kico; 02-05-2011 at 08:03 PM.
Old 02-05-2011, 10:58 PM
VideoKarma Member

Well, one is for AM and the other for FM so you want the first one.

You may not be happy with the coverage you get from 100 mW. It will likely be noisy and not meet your quality needs.

I seem to remember back in the day when you bought a unit that used one tube and probably ran about one Watt and implied that you could get about 75 feet of range. I think they were called broadcasters.

Of course, antenna is everything. You may want to set up several on different channels so the appropriate receiver can be used, depending on signal strength.
Old 02-06-2011, 08:28 AM
Here's looking at you kid

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob91343 View Post
Well, one is for AM and the other for FM so you want the first one.

You may not be happy with the coverage you get from 100 mW. It will likely be noisy and not meet your quality needs.