Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early Color Television

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 07-03-2017, 10:01 PM
LADR's Avatar
LADR LADR is offline
LOCAL AND DX RADIO
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 66
I have replaced a 50 MFD cap on the vertical board and now I have a full raster but, when I apply a signal, it still has an inch on the bottom and top.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-03-2017, 11:05 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 9,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by LADR View Post
I have replaced a 50 MFD cap on the vertical board and now I have a full raster but, when I apply a signal, it still has an inch on the bottom and top.
If it is 16:9 aspect ratio programming coming from your signal source then that is normal...A good way to check that is to minimize contrast and maximize brightness...So blacks become grey....If your black bars turn grey, but you can still see contrast/picture content and lack there of then you know it is your signal source.

If it truly is not scanning that area then try readjusting height and V linearity (preferably with a test pattern)....Some vert sections will scan more at a different frequency (which the vert may run at without sync signals) or without a blanking pulse from a broadcast
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-06-2017, 01:29 PM
LADR's Avatar
LADR LADR is offline
LOCAL AND DX RADIO
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 66
I have found dead 40 mfd. I do have a 47 mfd but wrong voltage. The dead cap is a cornell dublier "beaver" dry electrolytic.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-06-2017, 08:57 PM
mrjukebox160 mrjukebox160 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 44
If your replacement is of a higher voltage it will work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-28-2017, 06:52 PM
LADR's Avatar
LADR LADR is offline
LOCAL AND DX RADIO
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 66
Ive replaced all bad/shorted tubes except for two. The audio this thing puts out is amazing and the set has the RCA color tv cabinet smell. And red is ded.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #21  
Old 11-04-2017, 07:46 AM
LADR's Avatar
LADR LADR is offline
LOCAL AND DX RADIO
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 66
There is no hope for the CRT. It needs a new one. Can someone spare a good 21CYP22A?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-04-2017, 08:43 AM
miniman82's Avatar
miniman82 miniman82 is offline
First Light: 1952-2011
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 4,087
I have an FBP you can have, doesn’t test the greatest but all guns come up to green on my tester. Figure out a way to get it to roll tide country?
__________________
Evolution...
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-04-2017, 08:58 AM
LADR's Avatar
LADR LADR is offline
LOCAL AND DX RADIO
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by miniman82 View Post
I have an FBP you can have, doesn’t test the greatest but all guns come up to green on my tester. Figure out a way to get it to roll tide country?
Guess the only way is to ship it, im kinda afraid to expose larger CRT to the mail system because its way to easy to break. I wonder how much shipping is?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-04-2017, 08:27 PM
Bill R Bill R is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jackson, TN
Posts: 846
pack it well and check with Grayhound.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-04-2017, 09:57 PM
KentTeffeteller's Avatar
KentTeffeteller KentTeffeteller is offline
Gimpus Stereophilus!
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Athens, TN
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom S View Post
Any help you need ask I do have the service manual on disk for it. Love working on these sets. I'm still looking for a 63 Curtis Mathis Color. I have 4 older sets. 60 CTC 10 RCA like yours. 61 RCA CTC 11. 66 GE Porta Color and a 67 Motorola 22". All working.
Buy the Curtis Mathes for looks, but don't expect any better than RCA Chassis quality in a Roundie either. Fancy cabinetry, fancy warranty when new. Meh chassis. Want quality color TV, buy the best Zenith chassis in whatever cabinet. Buy engineering, buy reliability, buy things worth buying which aren't mediocre in a fancy cabinet. Even cheapie late Philco roundie had unique engineering (hybrid chassis) and great color for a lot less than a C/M ever did. Simple facts.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #26  
Old 11-05-2017, 01:31 AM
LADR's Avatar
LADR LADR is offline
LOCAL AND DX RADIO
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by miniman82 View Post
I have an FBP you can have, doesn’t test the greatest but all guns come up to green on my tester. Figure out a way to get it to roll tide country?
And don't worry, I'll pay shipping.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-05-2017, 08:00 AM
miniman82's Avatar
miniman82 miniman82 is offline
First Light: 1952-2011
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 4,087
Greyhound doesn’t do glass picture tubes anymore, I asked. That leaves UPS (who have destroyed a rebuild CRT for me) and uShip.com, I suggest uShip.com or pony express here on the forums.
__________________
Evolution...
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-05-2017, 04:07 PM
LADR's Avatar
LADR LADR is offline
LOCAL AND DX RADIO
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by miniman82 View Post
Greyhound doesn’t do glass picture tubes anymore, I asked. That leaves UPS (who have destroyed a rebuild CRT for me) and uShip.com, I suggest uShip.com or pony express here on the forums.
I could try uship but i need to know the package weight and dimensions to get an estimate .
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-05-2017, 05:22 PM
timmy's Avatar
timmy timmy is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ferndale ny
Posts: 1,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by LADR View Post
Ive replaced all bad/shorted tubes except for two. The audio this thing puts out is amazing and the set has the RCA color tv cabinet smell. And red is ded.
No red at all, does the heater light on the gun for red, there are 3 . If there is Alittle red there I have something that will bring the red back.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-06-2017, 12:28 AM
Bill Cahill's Avatar
Bill Cahill Bill Cahill is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: St. Petersburg, Fl.
Posts: 1,269
Post

HI. These RCA TV's tend to have broken ground connections which need soldering. Also, check the resist9rs in the color circuits. Hope this helps.
Bill Cahill
__________________
"Tubes are those little glass things that light up orange unless there is a short.. Then they light up all pretty colors..."
Please join my forum.
http://tuberadio.heavenforum.com/ind...c8c9de9e96fd7d
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©Copyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.