Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Recorded Video

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2017, 09:05 AM
lnx64's Avatar
lnx64 lnx64 is online now
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 1,569
SLV-795HF runaway timer

*counter, not timer.

Well this is odd.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hAC1orob1OA

Any ideas? At first the picture coming out of the unit was dark, like it had no luma but had chroma, there was color, but nothing filling in the screen. Restarted the VCR and this is the result.. It does record and play, but it certainly isn't keeping time correctly on the counter, unless it's recording or playing.

Last edited by lnx64; 08-07-2017 at 09:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2017, 12:06 PM
Ed in Tx's Avatar
Ed in Tx Ed in Tx is offline
Zenith Walton My 1st TV
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,164
hmmm... The counter sees the 30 Hz CTL pulse when playing. So maybe it's picking up 60 Hz hum or noise making it count twice the speed while sitting stopped? Strange one! I'd have to take a look at the PB CTL pulse output probably a test point somewhere, or maybe a pin on the servo IC for CTL pulse.

The video starting out dark like no luminance then gradually getting normal looking sounds like bad electrolytic(s) to me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2017, 01:30 PM
lnx64's Avatar
lnx64 lnx64 is online now
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 1,569
Hmm, I'll need to look into interference, but also caps.

I need to take back that the recordings are good. When played back on other VCR's, the picture is "jumpy" and seems to at times lose sync and the audio pitch goes up for a second then goes back to normal. Also, it seems to not be recording hifi sound at all (we do utilize sound in our security cameras, it's recording only linear audio tracks however, and no hifi tracks like it normally does).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2017, 01:52 PM
Ed in Tx's Avatar
Ed in Tx Ed in Tx is offline
Zenith Walton My 1st TV
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,164
With all those problems I would start making sure all the power supply voltages are correct and clean.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2017, 10:42 PM
lnx64's Avatar
lnx64 lnx64 is online now
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 1,569
Alright, I'll be starting with that.. I wonder if 60hz noise is getting in from the PSU itself, not fully rectifying and filtering the line.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.