Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Vintage Arcade, Pinball, and MAME

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2014, 11:29 PM
rca2000's Avatar
rca2000 rca2000 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: cincinnati,ohio
Posts: 2,096
Did arcade games REALLY use Tube-driven monitors??

I seem to recall reading here that someone has worked on either a Centipede game or some other vintage , wonderful game--and they talked about the color monitors using TUBES !! I did NOT expect this to me the case. I expected them to contain all SS monitors, likely foreign-made and a lot of chips in the low-level ckty too. Then I read about a game that had a 6JE6 tube red-plating, likely from loss of drive or such.

True--or someone's dream??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-27-2014, 02:58 AM
colorfixer's Avatar
colorfixer colorfixer is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 316
Only the very early "silver age" games such as Computer Space and stuff contemporary with TVs of the era that were hybrid or last gasp had tubes. Pong for example had a solid state B/W tv hacked into a monitor. Every color game I've seen, even those with modified TV receivers have had solid state monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2014, 10:15 AM
rca2000's Avatar
rca2000 rca2000 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: cincinnati,ohio
Posts: 2,096
That i8s what I expected..EVERY modern (80's-now) video game I have seen in ...the monitor was boring looking, often hot chassis, and used chips for V-out and such-like tv sets of the day. Usually a single--boring to look at board.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2014, 10:52 AM
zenith2134's Avatar
zenith2134 zenith2134 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,440
Computer Space used the General Electric SF chassis b/w, same as the 12" b/w tv sets used. it was a hybrid tube chassis. Always thought that was interesting. And every SE or SF set I found over the years worked well as is, but many had weak CRTs(low emission)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2014, 03:40 AM
colorfixer's Avatar
colorfixer colorfixer is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 316
The SF/SE had only one transistor if I recall correctly: the UHF oscillator.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 05-29-2014, 09:50 AM
Dude111 Dude111 is offline
Analogue is Awesome
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by rca2000
That i8s what I expected..EVERY modern (80's-now) video game I have seen in ...the monitor was boring looking, often hot chassis, and used chips for V-out and such-like tv sets of the day. Usually a single--boring to look at board.
I have a SUPER PACMAN game in my room which I believe uses a CRT
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-31-2014, 04:58 PM
ChrisW6ATV's Avatar
ChrisW6ATV ChrisW6ATV is offline
Another CT-100 lives!
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hayward, Cal. USA
Posts: 3,308
They all used CRTs, but tubes on the chassis itself?

I worked on the Electrohome (customized JVC) game monitors in 1981 when we did warranty service for Williams, Stern, and others. It was fun to see a box marked "Berzerk monitor", and my co-worker who was not familiar with the game thought it was a description of the monitor's problem. Those were certainly all solid state.
__________________
Chris

Quote from another forum: "(Antique TV collecting) always seemed to me to be a fringe hobby that only weirdos did."
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-30-2016, 11:13 PM
colorfixer's Avatar
colorfixer colorfixer is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 316
According to the game's author Jed Margolin, Star Wars was planned to have a tube to defocus the crt during the death star explosion.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-07-2016, 08:35 PM
dieseljeep dieseljeep is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by colorfixer View Post
The SF/SE had only one transistor if I recall correctly: the UHF oscillator.
I have an SF 12" portable hybrid set. It uses an IC for the audio circuit and a HV type audio transistor. It also has a FET for the horizontal osc transistor.
I'd have to review the schematic again. An interesting design, to be sure.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-18-2016, 06:48 PM
jmetal88 jmetal88 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by rca2000 View Post
I seem to recall reading here that someone has worked on either a Centipede game or some other vintage , wonderful game--and they talked about the color monitors using TUBES !! I did NOT expect this to me the case. I expected them to contain all SS monitors, likely foreign-made and a lot of chips in the low-level ckty too. Then I read about a game that had a 6JE6 tube red-plating, likely from loss of drive or such.

True--or someone's dream??
Usually when someone who works on arcade machines refers to a tube monitor, all they mean is that it uses a CRT.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #11  
Old 05-23-2016, 04:28 AM
Outland Outland is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 201
How were those '80s and '90s arcade boards hooked up to the tube. Composite? RGB?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-07-2016, 03:15 PM
N2IXK's Avatar
N2IXK N2IXK is offline
Technohippie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sittin' on the "Group W" bench...
Posts: 739
Most arcade monitors I have seen used RGB signal lines, plus H and V sync...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-03-2016, 04:08 PM
slatton86 slatton86 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: VA, for now
Posts: 73
^^Correct^^ with a sync of 15khz I believe.

I went on a quest about 15 years ago trying to find computer monitors that would sync to an NES Play10 board I had, and would have liked to use it on my Genesis and SNES. I never got my hands on one, but from what I remember Samsung and Dell had the most models that could pull it off. Long after I abandoned that board I found a Sun Microsystems (I think) with RGBHV jacks on the back that probably would have worked. For some you needed to run a 5v supply on the VGA connector to brighten the picture.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-31-2016, 04:56 PM
lnx64's Avatar
lnx64 lnx64 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 1,569
My Samsung TV in my sig, uses the SAME CRT used in Ms-Pacman.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-13-2016, 01:17 AM
centralradio centralradio is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 963
I was alittle confused with the topic heading at first .I had in mind of a all tube TV sets used as a arcade monitor.Some of us at home back in the 1970's probably playing the original Pong on mom and dads old all tube TV from the 1960's or an 1970's hybrid set as mom and dad watch their new TV .I have several RGB CRT monitors here from arcade games.With some electronics magic with a composite video input along with the H.V ,sync, color demode circuitry and audio amp .You can make a regular TV monitor out of it.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.