View Full Version : CT-100 restoration questions

Tim
10-28-2006, 06:43 PM
I have been working on my CT-100 on and off for about 4 months now. Life keeps getting in the way of this important process. :). Anyway, I was reading on Pete's site that it is recommended to replace the HV filament windings on the flyback and I am wondering what the experiences of the group were on this topic. Is this a common failure point? If so, does anyone have a recommendation as to where to get about 3 ft of flexible HV wire? The 2nd anode stuff I have is too thick and stiff for this application.

Secondly, when replacing the Selenium stacks with diodes, has anyone found the need to add additional resistance to compensate for the voltage drop that was present with the seleniums? I have not applied power yet so have not made any measurements myself. Wondering what others have found.

I'm hoping to have the old girl running by Christmas.

Thanks in advance.

Steve K
10-28-2006, 07:03 PM
Hi Tim:

I have restored four CT-100s and have not replaced the filament windings on any of them. Perhaps I have been lucky that the originals were good and continue to work. As far as the rectifiers, I just sub in the new ones without any resistors. Of course I keep the originals in place but just disconnect them from the circuit.

Steve

Steve McVoy
10-28-2006, 07:54 PM
I have also restored 4 CT-100s and a couple of 21CT55s, and have never replaced the filament windings. I've also kept the original seleniums in every one of the sets. I think these sets were operated for so few hours that the seleniums are still good.

I did add additional fusing - especially in the cathode of the horizontal output tube. However, I have never had a flyback failure, so I think they are pretty tough.

Tim
10-28-2006, 09:52 PM
Thanks guys. I think I will leave the fly alone.