View Full Version : No Shortwave radio reception

Rockin' Kat
06-24-2006, 05:16 PM
I'm fairly new to trying to liston to shortwave radio broadcasts.. I havn't really been able to get anything in on either of the radios I have that are capable of SW reception.... just get static.. well the boombox does get something, but it's really faint and easily lost.

When I still lived in Oregon my parents had a huge antenna up over the garage that we NEVER used... now I wish we had one to see if that would make it any better, but stupid neighborhood ordinances have a ban placed on such things.(also dissallow window mounted AC and satalite dishes on street sides of houses)

I just wonder if there's anything I can do or if I'm just boned.

Celt
06-24-2006, 05:42 PM
You won't hear much during the day. Unless the radios have some sort of built-in antenna, you'll need at least 10' (preferably more) of wire to pick up something. I installed my longwire along the top roofline in my attic. 50' will get you quite a bit, including helping the AM broadcast band.

Fisherdude
06-24-2006, 06:24 PM
Let me know what kind of radio you're using.

Sandy G
06-24-2006, 06:28 PM
Most everywhere from 4.5 MhZ to 10 MhZ-or MC- should offer good listening at night.There will be several places right in there that stations will literally on top of each other, other places where the radio will seem dead as a hammer...You;ll hear allsorts of strange sounds, incredibly distorted speech, & maybe even a Spanish woman rattling off numbers...Welcome to the wild, wacky world of shortwave. The strange sounds are likely to be hams talking to each other in Morse code, or some sort of some sort of encrypted data transmission, if it sounds "fast". The "Donald Duck" voices are hams again, talking to each other on sideband. The "numbers station" are purportedly spies receiving messages, altho OFFICIALLY no agency has ever confirmed this...We could tell you more, but we'd have to Terminate W/Extreme Prejudice...<grin>