View Full Version : Help diagnosing Motorola Quasar/WU821FS

meestro
08-15-2005, 12:05 PM
Hello Guys,

Great forum here! I just picked up this old Motorola Quasar model # WU821FS

The audio comes through great, but the picture is nothing but snow, and occationally a black bar on the bottom warbles it's way through with a thin green line above.

I'm really a novice with old tv's(this is my first purchase, got it cheap). I'm wondering if you all could get some sort of feel of what the issue might be by taking a look at the pic w/ the set turned on.

Thanks to Dave at JustRadios, I was directed to a schematic over at Sam's. I'll be getting one of these for any future servicing needs.

It appears that the last time this television was serviced was 1982 w/ a 2 year picture tube warranty. I am the 3rd owner, but the 2nd owner received it after moving into the house (1st owner left it there), and had it stored away from the get go.

Thanks for any help!

Chad Hauris
08-15-2005, 12:28 PM
I would say bad capacitors in the vertical section...check vert. output tube too if it is the tube type. make sure you follow all safety precautions on dealing with high voltage in TV's if you go in to working on it, as it can be very dangerous.

meestro
08-15-2005, 01:03 PM
Hey Chad,

Thanks for the quick response.

This solution would be for both the lack of any reception AND the black bar issue, right?

On the back, everything pops off nicely w/ the little tabs, but the left side does not because it looks like the rear control panel has been tacked in, thus I cannot remove the back board.

meestro
08-15-2005, 03:06 PM
I've attached a few more pics of the rear of the unit. As you can see from the rear control panel, it seems to be tacked shut.

Also, I'm curious to know what the cutout w/ the metal piece is on the lower left area?

Thanks

Chad Hauris
08-15-2005, 03:18 PM