View Full Version : Ads reloading pages over and over and over


Eric H
09-23-2017, 11:37 PM
I noticed whenever I'm in a Forum the page keeps reloading every few seconds making it impossible to go back a page.

I'm using Firefox 55.0.3

It's not noticeable except for the little Circle in the corner spinning around, and if you hold down the back button you will see the long list of the same page.

If I enable the Ad Blocker it stops doing this.

I'm not sure if this is some script by the ad people trying to get more page hits or if there's a bug in VK.

N8QQD
09-23-2017, 11:52 PM
I had the same problem with Firefox. Had to switch to Internet Explorer to avoid it.

Findm-Keepm
09-24-2017, 09:44 AM
I noticed whenever I'm in a Forum the page keeps reloading every few seconds making it impossible to go back a page.

I'm using Firefox 55.0.3

It's not noticeable except for the little Circle in the corner spinning around, and if you hold down the back button you will see the long list of the same page.

If I enable the Ad Blocker it stops doing this.

I'm not sure if this is some script by the ad people trying to get more page hits or if there's a bug in VK.

Welcome to my everyday experience on VK. I now use a script blocker that has to relearn all the nasty ways Google injects their scripts. Every third or fourth page load, and back to reloading pages. It's Google's AdSense service. I use the NoScript security suite add-on. Sad that VK can't tame the scripts.

I'm on Linux Mint, so IE is out, but Chromium works.

Celt
09-24-2017, 03:48 PM
I gave up on Fartfox last year. Went with MS Edge and have had no probs since.

Ed in Tx
09-24-2017, 03:56 PM
Haven't updated FF since 53 and I am not seeing this "reloading". Page loads once. I guess I will stay with 53 for the foreseeable future.

Jon A.
09-24-2017, 04:23 PM
I think I'll disable automatic updates whenever this gets fixed. Seems the latest version of Firefox is very resource-hungry; drop-down and context menus are very slow to appear.

Edit: All older versions are available, Mozilla just hides them well. I just ran the 53 installer, huge improvement. Kind of funny how the installer checked the existing installation then gave me an "upgrade" button to go ahead with the installation. How true. :)
Welcome to my everyday experience on VK. I now use a script blocker that has to relearn all the nasty ways Google injects their scripts. Every third or fourth page load, and back to reloading pages. It's Google's AdSense service. I use the NoScript security suite add-on. Sad that VK can't tame the scripts.

I'm on Linux Mint, so IE is out, but Chromium works.
I've been using NoScript for who knows how long now. Other than the slow menus, no problems here. Mom has a first-gen iPad mini that can't use an ad blocker (I don't know about script blockers). Pages reload left and right on that thing, doesn't take a lot to choke it.

Eric H
09-24-2017, 05:25 PM
It doesn't do it in Microsoft Edge or in FF with Adblocker enabled.
Malwarebytes found a couple of the usual Malware programs on my PC but deleting them didn't fix it so I'll just keep the Adblocker on for this site.

Dude111
09-28-2017, 06:26 PM
I noticed whenever I'm in a Forum the page keeps reloading every few seconds making it impossible to go back a page.Wow im so sorry Eric... you are on a staff account,you shouldnt see ANY ADS!!!


I think the browser is calling the ads not the site.. This happens on many sites now....


If you disable javascript Eric does this still happen buddy??

Crist Rigott
09-30-2017, 09:21 PM
Yeah, it's bad. My FF is allowing the ads to go on forever. Sigh....

Dude111
10-01-2017, 06:31 PM
Did you try disabling scripts Crist???

Im so sorry guys..........

Electronic M
10-02-2017, 09:41 AM
You need to add adblock+ or better yet UblockOrigin as well as NoScript addons to your firefox.

I've been running those from the beginning used to use request policy too. Back in college when I had to go to a bunch of unfamiliar sites regularly for research those apps were a big part of me NOT getting viruses (the other part was ditching Internet explorer).

Some argue about depriving sites of ad revenue....When youtube forces me to watch a 30 second commercial to watch a 10 second video and many other places have equally or more annoying ad setups embedded into the content or popping up over it I reach a point of gaining great satisfaction giving the bird to all net advertisers...Maybe I'm making the better advertisers suffer too, but if their peers are driving me away they should not blame me, they should blame their peers and tell them to stop driving folks away.

dr.ido
10-02-2017, 10:04 PM
I've switched to the ESR version of Firefox on most of my machines. It has some essential security updates that you don't get staying with an old mainstream version, but not the extra "features". That said, the biggest problem I've seen at lately is google's scripts have gotten more aggressive lately and are bogging things down (perhaps deliberately so they can claim Chrome is faster?). Blocking them in NoScript (and only temporarily enabling when absolutely necessary) has helped a lot.

Crist Rigott
10-03-2017, 01:15 AM
Did you try disabling scripts Crist???

Im so sorry guys..........

I'm not sure how to do that.

Eric H
10-03-2017, 01:36 AM
I just updated Firefox to 56.0, turned off the Ad Blocker and the problem seems to be fixed.

Dude111
10-03-2017, 03:35 AM
Im glad its better for ya Eric :)


CRIST: I think you goto OPTIONS and find the tab with javascript options.. (Im not to familar with FF)

Crist Rigott
10-03-2017, 09:38 AM
I just updated Firefox to 56.0, turned off the Ad Blocker and the problem seems to be fixed.

Eric,
I just updated my FF. You turned "OFF" the ad blocker? How do you do that?
Thanks.

Electronic M
10-03-2017, 10:28 AM
Did you try disabling scripts Crist???

Im so sorry guys..........
I'm not sure how to do that.

In Firefox you have to go get an add-on called NoScript (there may be others add-ons that can do the same thing). It will automatically block all scripts, some sites and some features of some sites require scripts to run/work correctly so you will have to selectively run the scripts by clicking on the add-on's logo (or the bottom bar if no script is giving you one) and selectively re-enable some scripts till the site works. I do 'temporarily allow script...' until I know which scripts a site I frequent needs to work, then permanently allow the ones needed.

Eric,
I just updated my FF. You turned "OFF" the ad blocker? How do you do that?
Thanks.

AFAIK Firefox does not come with a built in ad blocker on the standard release. Your ad blocker, if you have one, should be some sort of add-on, clicking it's logo or perhaps right clicking and selecting it's entry in the menu that pops up should give you options like 'disable on this site' 'disable everywhere' 'enable', etc.