View Full Version : Zenith System 3 - No Remote - Unable To Turn On


Ookpik
09-15-2017, 07:10 PM
I recently acquired a Zenith Advanced System 3 Space Command 19" color TV.

Model number SB1971P.

I did not get a remote with the TV.

How do you turn the TV on? I cannot find an on/off switch, knob or button anywhere!

Do I need a remote to turn the TV on?

If so can I use any/universal remote or must a find a remote that came with the TV?

Thanks for any help!

Eric H
09-15-2017, 07:29 PM
Does that not say "Power" on the fold down door all the way to the right?

http://videokarma.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=195555&stc=1&d=1505518384

old_tv_nut
09-15-2017, 07:31 PM
Your picture is too low resolution to read, but does the far right button on the drop down door say POWER, or???

Ookpik
09-15-2017, 07:50 PM
Sorry for the small image. Here is a larger one:

http://users.wowway.com/~ookpik72/Image7.jpg

Yes it does say "Power" on the far right but that doesn't seem to correspond to anything.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Eric H
09-15-2017, 08:01 PM
That is a keyboard for all the basic functions, did you try pressing on the Power button?
If you did and got no response the possibly the ribbon cable (right by the right hinge) is damaged, or the set just doesn't work.

dishdude
09-15-2017, 08:14 PM
Those ribbon cables broke all the time. Get a universal remote and make sure the REM/MAN switch is in REM.

Ookpik
09-15-2017, 08:17 PM
Thanks for your help but I still cannot find a power button.

Please circle or put an X where you think the power button is located.

The plastic boss on the far right is just that - a plastic boss.

Here is a close-up photo:

http://users.wowway.com/~ookpik72/Image8.jpg

dishdude
09-15-2017, 08:39 PM
Button is broken. Get a remote.

Ookpik
09-15-2017, 08:57 PM
I plan on doing exactly that however for future reference I would like to know where the on/off button is located.

compucat
09-15-2017, 09:02 PM
Notice the slide switch to the right of the CATV selector? It says rem and man for remote and manual. It is in the remote position. Try switching to manual. There still may be a problem with those membrane controls as they are failure prone.

Ookpik
09-15-2017, 09:14 PM
Compucat,

OK I slid the switch to the MAN position. Now what button, knob or switch do I use to turn the TV on? Even if the knob is broken where is it located?

dishdude
09-15-2017, 09:20 PM
Compucat,

OK I slid the switch to the MAN position. Now what button, knob or switch do I use to turn the TV on? Even if the knob is broken where is it located?

The brass colored part of the metal marked POWER is touch sensitive like a microwave oven keypad. It provides no feedback so most people used a lot more force than necessary breaking the hinge and ribbon cable in the process which is why it won't turn on when you press it.

Ookpik
09-15-2017, 09:32 PM
Gotcha!

Thanks for your help! :D

I did not understand that "strip" was a "touch sensitive panel." :o

The TV works great!

Thanks again to everyone for their help! :thmbsp:

crt89
09-16-2017, 11:49 PM
I don't know much about this era of Zenith but I've never seen a control panel like that. The hour and minute set and parental control buttons are interesting because it appears to have an LCD channel display at the left. Or is this really an OSD equipped set or both LCD and OSD?

Findm-Keepm
09-17-2017, 01:48 AM
I don't know much about this era of Zenith but I've never seen a control panel like that. The hour and minute set and parental control buttons are interesting because it appears to have an LCD channel display at the left. Or is this really an OSD equipped set or both LCD and OSD?

That "LCD channel display" is the IR window for the remote. There's an OSD with time on these sets.

zeno
09-17-2017, 03:04 PM
That "LCD channel display" is the IR window for the remote. There's an OSD with time on these sets.

I second that........