View Full Version : 1964 Zenith M2109U chassis 14M28 tube layout


pac.attack76
05-15-2017, 07:23 PM
Tubes were removed from this set and in the process of putting them back, I'm not sure where each one goes. I have tubes in it but won't plug in till I know they're right. Anyone have a diagram showing locations?

pac.attack76
05-16-2017, 07:26 PM
Anyone? I need to know where each number type goes.

Samuel1981
05-16-2017, 09:38 PM
https://www.samswebsite.com/en/photofact/details/index/id/13899

For the cost of two large jimmy johns sandwiches, two chips, two sodas, and two cookies.

Findm-Keepm
05-16-2017, 09:42 PM
I may have the Sams, or even the Zenith lit, or at worst, a Beitmans with the info. Lemme check.

Findm-Keepm
05-16-2017, 09:48 PM
Here ya go - in the 1965 model year lineup:

http://www.americanradiohistory.com/Archive-Rider/BEITMAN-SUPREME/Beitman-1965-TV-Additional.pdf

Page 171 is germane - go from there.

Really, years mean little to anyone looking for parts, manuals or info - the model or chassis speaks volumes. Nowhere in the service world are TVs referred to by year - only model or chassis series

pac.attack76
05-16-2017, 09:50 PM
$22.00 just to find out where the tubes go. I'd have to pass on that. I originally pulled tubes out with plans to scrap the set due to lack of space, need for the set, and the fact that there's little interest in old sets here where I'm located but I came back across it only to find out it suffered no damage so I decided to have sympathy for it and reassemble. If no one here knows what goes where on this chassis, I'll probably stick with original plans c and junk it. I'm going to be moving soon and would rather pack lite anyway. Does anyone actually have this sheet? I can't imagine why they want to sell something for a 50-60 year old set. I've downloaded many pdf files but search for something like this and you'd swear it was military top-secret. I just want to know where the tubes go so I can test. I have no interest in putting money into it. I already have enough projects. Many only costing $4 in parts. I have another zenith I'm about to pull out and start going through so I'll know what to order. I bet zeno can help if he checks in. I just don't want to start it up with tubes in the wrong sockets. I b wish they had thought to actually label each socket.:scratch2:

pac.attack76
05-16-2017, 10:02 PM
Hey Findm. Was in the middle of my reply when you responded. Thanks a mil for that. I'm checking it out now and tomorrow, I'll go through everything and post again when I'm done. I hate v to see this set go.

zeno
05-17-2017, 07:38 AM
Ordering from Sams is your LAST resort. For $22 you will get a
crappy PDF or photocopy. Always try to find the ORIGINAL Sams.
They are printed in the highest quality. Check internet & you can
find them under $10. I dont have any this old but I do sell newer ones
apx 1967-1987. PM with requests. Always look here for a freebee
first. There are many generous folks here that love to help out.
If I have the Sams I WILL NOT copy it, I dont have a scanner anyhows.
I WILL look things up & give tech tips for free & enjoy doing it. Only
reason I sell them is to recover a fraction of the cost & put a
rack of beer in the fridge now & then:beer:

73 Zeno:smoke:
LFOD !


$22.00 just to find out where the tubes go. I'd have to pass on that. I originally pulled tubes out with plans to scrap the set due to lack of space, need for the set, and the fact that there's little interest in old sets here where I'm located but I came back across it only to find out it suffered no damage so I decided to have sympathy for it and reassemble. If no one here knows what goes where on this chassis, I'll probably stick with original plans c and junk it. I'm going to be moving soon and would rather pack lite anyway. Does anyone actually have this sheet? I can't imagine why they want to sell something for a 50-60 year old set. I've downloaded many pdf files but search for something like this and you'd swear it was military top-secret. I just want to know where the tubes go so I can test. I have no interest in putting money into it. I already have enough projects. Many only costing $4 in parts. I have another zenith I'm about to pull out and start going through so I'll know what to order. I bet zeno can help if he checks in. I just don't want to start it up with tubes in the wrong sockets. I b wish they had thought to actually label each socket.:scratch2:

Adam
05-17-2017, 08:36 AM
Here's a scan from the Zenith manual. It's in TV-33.

zeno
05-17-2017, 11:08 AM
There you go !
Thats a great set. Always liked working on them. Most still
have near perfect CRT's still & are easy to get going. In fact
most are working when found.

73 Zeno:smoke:
LFOD !

pac.attack76
05-17-2017, 03:08 PM
Thanks guys! Checked everything out and seems I was wrong on only one tube. Only thing is, I'm not sure about the 6EA8 for the tuner section. The tube that's in there now does light up but the numbers are rubbed off so I'm not sure if it's right or not. Ever t hing lights up but can't get a pic when connected to a device and the sound can be turned up and down but it's only a hum. No static sound. Also, the 6J10 so the sound output has a 6Z10 in place. Is this a proper replacement? I couldn't find a 6J10 in my pile so my guess is the 6Z10 is what came out of it. Any ideas?

N8QQD
05-17-2017, 03:25 PM
The RCA tube guide lists it as 6Z10/6J10, so it should be fine.

pac.attack76
05-17-2017, 03:39 PM
I forgot about that. Different brands, different numbers. Any idea where the hum is coming from? No image on screen either. May be related?

Adam
05-17-2017, 04:13 PM
First I'd try just shaking the IF tubes in their sockets, and looking to see if the picture comes up, dirty tube sockets are a common problem. Both no picture and no sound (but good HV, full horizontal, vertical,...) would put the problem likely in the video IFs or the tuner.

pac.attack76
05-17-2017, 07:53 PM
I moved the tubes again but only before startup with no change. Can I move them while they're on?

zeno
05-18-2017, 09:36 AM
I moved the tubes again but only before startup with no change. Can I move them while they're on?

6J10 / 6Z10 are subs & came double marked.
See tuner type ( 175-###) & compare with with manual to be sure
it has the right mix/osc tube. Do not sub, may work but not right.

Turn channels. You should see & hear loud static crashes. If you
do odds are the tuner is dead. If you dont its the IF's.
While running pull one IF tube at a time. Example:
Pull 1st if no effect
Pull 2nd IF & you see & hear things. This means the 3rd is OK
& probably the 2nd is bad.
This is all crude signal injecting & with practice it can show you a lot
in seconds to narrow things down. You can also do tube tapping.
Lightly tap tubes & see if it pops back in. When the set is all fixed you
can also tap them. This can find int shorting tubes & dirty sockets.
Oh yes the hum may or may not be related. Consider it a second
problem for now & ignore it for now.

73 Zeno:smoke:
LFOD !

pac.attack76
05-18-2017, 02:17 PM
Moved all 3 of them one at a time starting from the back and no changes at all. Also turning the channels doesn't do anything either.:scratch2:

Electronic M
05-18-2017, 02:35 PM
If you did that with the set on, then there are a few things I could see it being: an AGC issue, bad video detector diode, loss of B+ to the IF system.

pac.attack76
05-18-2017, 07:03 PM
Set was working when tossed. I doubt the 7 or 8 months of sitting i
outside in the junk pile did it any good. I wanted to try and save it but at the same time, space is limited and I really don't want to put much into it. Not sure what to do at this point.

pac.attack76
05-18-2017, 07:11 PM
I'm just wondering if the mixer/osc is wrong. It's supposed to have a 6EA8 but the one I have in there has the numbers rubbed off so I can't tell. If I look through my lot and can not find a 6EA8, what is a suitable sub?

Findm-Keepm
05-18-2017, 10:52 PM
6GH8, possibly a 6U8A and 6CQ8 (odd!) as well. Each tube has it's idiosyncrasies, so the sub manuals always have the asterisk or a foot note.

One manufacturer actually made a dual marked 6EA8/6GH8 - but they were short lived, as no other manufacturer jumped on the bandwagon..

www.smcelectronics.com/DOWNLOADS/TUBE%20SUB%201980.PDF

pac.attack76
05-19-2017, 01:14 AM
A life saver as always. I'll check and see if I have any of those.:thmbsp:

roundscreen
05-19-2017, 10:48 AM
The correct tube numbers for the tuner should be stamped on the tuner. Most Zenith tuners have this. scrape all the tubes pins with a small flat head screw driver. And hit the tube sockets with Deoxit or some kind of cleaner. It's a pita to do, But if the chassis was outside, all of the sockets Will need to be cleaned.

pac.attack76
05-19-2017, 02:50 PM
Tried two subs and still the same. Maybe capacitor issue now? Component level. Issues mentioned earlier.

pac.attack76
05-19-2017, 08:46 PM
Worked on it for the last 3 hours. Caps all check good. Finally did get the static sound along with tuner activity but still hear hum sound and cannot get a pic on screen. Moved if tubes around and changed to different locations. Not sure what else I can do with the resources I have.:scratch2: