View Full Version : RCA 19 inch KCS 205A B&W TV


Marco-nix
01-30-2017, 10:33 PM
Hi to all , I found a RCA B&W 19 inch for free .. Yes a friend gave me his old tv :) but....the tv needs some adjustments and probably some new electrolytics . I don't know if i am on the right section because i did not find something for my model .. Is there someone with a big heart for a pdf of my model ? I found a video on YouTube and i took some pictures from the video. The photos are not mine but i have the exact model showed on YouTube ...

https://i37.servimg.com/u/f37/16/33/39/84/rca10.png
https://i37.servimg.com/u/f37/16/33/39/84/rca110.jpg
https://i37.servimg.com/u/f37/16/33/39/84/rca_ch10.png

TVTim
01-31-2017, 07:48 PM
I wish I could help you.

Marco-nix
01-31-2017, 08:46 PM
I wish I could help you.

Thank you TvTim..

TVTim
02-01-2017, 12:38 PM
Thank you TvTim..

I hope someone comes to your assistance.

Marco-nix
02-03-2017, 03:51 PM
Hello, no one can help me ?....

Electronic M
02-03-2017, 04:07 PM
It is listed in sam's 1859-3.

https://www.samswebsite.com/en/photofact/search?s=Search&t=model&o=0&k=KCS205&submit=Search

I don't have a copy or a pdf. So all I can do is tell you what to look for.

zeno
02-03-2017, 04:09 PM
Marco
Not sure exactly what you need.
KCS205A is the CHASSIS number. It could be used in
many different models. It is listed as Sams 1859-3.

Let us know what you need or what is wrong & we will
help out. RCA B&W's from this time were very good sets
& had few problems. As far as electrolytics go no reason
to change them all, just failed ones.

73 Zeno:smoke:
LFOD !

Marco-nix
02-03-2017, 04:19 PM
Thank you to you both ;)

As in the picture above , RCA KCS 205 A B&W 19 inch( Manufactured in March 1979 ) and i only have 2 problems with it . The image at the top of my screen, makes a few bars but replaces and gives way to a distorted picture to the right, the other problem is the brightness and the contrast are not enough .. and as there is not much of adjustments, I wonder what parts would be lacking .. Unfortunately, I have absolutely nothing to film the problem :( . No electrolytic capacitors seem to be bumpy and nothing seems broken either. My television has no vacuum tube, so, only transistors, resistance and other . Yes that's better with a camera but i don't have one :( ..

Thanks: Marco ..

WISCOJIM
02-03-2017, 07:25 PM
Hello, no one can help me ?....

The Sams Photofact for your set is still under copyright.

.

tom.j.fla
02-03-2017, 07:55 PM
You can find the sams service data (not a copy) priced at $8.50 at www.smcelectronics.com . All the best, Tom.J

Marco-nix
02-03-2017, 08:20 PM
Thank you Wiscojim and Tom .

Marco-nix
02-04-2017, 10:39 AM
Okay , no money for buying the pdf on copyright , But there is certainly one of you who can tell me what are the common problems of this RCA TV model KCS 205A and where I have to look and search to change the defective parts. My model was manufactured in March 1979 and is the same as the pictured above. I thought that by finding a pdf, I could have managed but knowing the problems common to this RCA model and / where Just find these problems, then I will manage . ;) thanks in advance...

The main problem is : some lines and sometimes a curve on the image on top of the screen...Hard to tell you something when i have no camera :( .

zeno
02-04-2017, 04:06 PM
Looked at manual. I remember no problems with them.
The only thing is to check the main filter cap & see if it
is leaking. Its on the right rear of chassis & is a steel can type.
BTW dark picture is usually the CRT but with the other problems
I wouldnt say for sure.

good luck

73 Zeno:smoke:
LFOD !

Marco-nix
02-04-2017, 08:41 PM
Looked at manual. I remember no problems with them.
The only thing is to check the main filter cap & see if it
is leaking. Its on the right rear of chassis & is a steel can type.
BTW dark picture is usually the CRT but with the other problems
I wouldnt say for sure.

good luck

73 Zeno:smoke:
LFOD !


With what can I replace this can? Regarding the image, the quality is good except at the top of the screen or there are some dotted lines when I turn it on only, but the picture becomes slightly crooked to the right at the top of the screen. It is only these problems because the rest is okay .. But you must surely talk about this:

https://i37.servimg.com/u/f37/16/33/39/84/can210.jpg
https://i37.servimg.com/u/f37/16/33/39/84/can_on10.png

tom.j.fla
02-04-2017, 09:36 PM
A pix of the screen would be nice. What you or talking about sounds like poor filtering in the low voltage supply. Now its not 60 cycle hum but 15750 cycle hum from a scan derived supply. Main filter C101 a 4 section can and scan filters C903 1000 mfd 35v and C905 330mfd at 35v are the power filters. All the best, Tom.J

Electronic M
02-04-2017, 09:38 PM
Go to just radios, Mouser, Allied, Digikey, Capacitor World, etc and look at the electrolytic caps available.

They do not make caps in that exact form factor anymore (and NOS ones are crap) so you will have to use smaller modern caps to replace that can. Read the value(s) on the original can.

Odds are the can contains more than one cap. The values should be something like ##uF (or ##MFD if older notation) ###V along with a symbol (D,[],V,'-' or blank) indicating which of the inner terminals the positive lead connects to. The positive terminal will have the same symbol as the corresponding value on the label does. The negative terminals are all connected to the outer metal can (there are exceptions but those are rare).

When ordering replacements you will want to order one for each section of the original can. You will want to order the same voltage value or higher (NEVER go lower voltage), and you will want the same or close capacitance within 20-50% tolerance.

Marco-nix
02-05-2017, 07:09 AM
Thank you Tom and Electronic M.

I shall see what I can do. You say surely true because I see no other capacitor that would be bulging. Of course, in a closed can, you can not see anything. Indeed, I know that the new capacitors have a mark to define the polarity ... As I do not often work televisions, it will be for me a difficult thing.

TVTim
02-23-2017, 06:43 PM
So, what happened? Is it working? Inquiring minds need to know.

Marco-nix
02-23-2017, 07:07 PM
So, what happened? Is it working? Inquiring minds need to know.


Hi TVTim .....

Yes curious minds need to know. But for now I have gleaned information here and there on the forum and because my wife is often sick, I have not yet had time to buy the necessary parts. On the other hand, I did some cleaning of both tuners because I had too much "snow" on the screen. It's already much better but I also have to check what a member told me about the wave at the top of the screen. Because it makes a head stretched to the right ... The money I had was used to go to the hospital for his spinal care. But when I have changed the capes inside the can, I will mention it in the publication;). For now TV has only worked twice since I made this publication.

Changing capes, it does not cause me any worries but I do not know how to disassemble this kind of can. If any of you can tell me how to do it would be a plus. thank you in advance ;)

Electronic M
02-23-2017, 08:10 PM
Are you using a VCR as your signal source?...VCRs can cause the top of the image to be pulled to one side.

Marco-nix
02-23-2017, 09:49 PM
Are you using a VCR as your signal source?...VCRs can cause the top of the image to be pulled to one side.

Yes i use a VCR and it's a Sony HI-FI stereo 4 heads... and sometimes( when i want to view a B&W movie on DVD ) , i use a Panasonic and i have the same wave at the top ..

Marco-nix
03-18-2017, 11:58 AM
A pix of the screen would be nice. What you or talking about sounds like poor filtering in the low voltage supply. Now its not 60 cycle hum but 15750 cycle hum from a scan derived supply. Main filter C101 a 4 section can and scan filters C903 1000 mfd 35v and C905 330mfd at 35v are the power filters. All the best, Tom.J


Sorry about the delay ... Where are these capacitors Tom ?

Edit : The image at the top of my screen, makes a few bars (lines ) but replaces and gives way to a distorted picture to the right( sometimes not all the times )

zeno
03-18-2017, 06:26 PM
Marco-nix
I would NOT change any caps in this set. It sounds like the VCR
is the problem. You need either a DVD with an RF output or
with an RF modulator to be sure. An old game console would also
work.
ALMOST ANY set made through the mid 1970's will bend at the
top with a VCR. B&W sets were the last to be improved !
For now best to put the $$ towards a cheap camera to post
screen shots. Many here can point you toward the right one

73 Zeno:smoke:
LFOD !

Marco-nix
03-18-2017, 10:52 PM
Marco-nix
I would NOT change any caps in this set. It sounds like the VCR
is the problem. You need either a DVD with an RF output or
with an RF modulator to be sure. An old game console would also
work.
ALMOST ANY set made through the mid 1970's will bend at the
top with a VCR. B&W sets were the last to be improved !
For now best to put the $$ towards a cheap camera to post
screen shots. Many here can point you toward the right one

Thanks Zeno ... As for the waves, I've changed VCR and everything is ok for this point. Now, as I can not afford to buy a camera, I do with what I have. I can do nothing . However, here is a picture of the corner at the top of my screen, where there are lines. That's the only problem I see right now. Forget the image on the screen because the image is beautiful . It's just my cam that is beurk ! :(

https://i58.servimg.com/u/f58/16/33/39/84/ligne10.png

TVTim
03-19-2017, 10:14 PM
That is a really cool TV. I wanted one when I was a kid, but never had money to get one. RCA has been a favorite of mine back as far as the 70s, if not 60s. Are you in Pennsylvania? If you were nearby, I'd love to as least take a look at it.

Marco-nix
03-19-2017, 10:40 PM
Thank you TVTim for your message. Unfortunately I do not live in the USA. But in Canada. In the province of Quebec .. Otherwise, it would have been a great pleasure to show it to you .. Let's say it is my first 19 inches black and white RCA. It does not have any major problems except that it makes lines at the top of the screen (Photo to support in a post above) .. the rest works very well and I think I'll keep it for good years. I was lucky for this TV. It did not cost me anything. A friend of an organization that often receives old televisions, throws them in the trash. DOnc, I arrived at the right moment and I asked him if it was to throw, his answer was a categorical YES .. so I Brought it home and since then I've been watching all my black and white movies on this TV;)

TVTim
03-20-2017, 06:54 PM
Thank you TVTim for your message. Unfortunately I do not live in the USA. But in Canada. In the province of Quebec .. Otherwise, it would have been a great pleasure to show it to you .. Let's say it is my first 19 inches black and white RCA. It does not have any major problems except that it makes lines at the top of the screen (Photo to support in a post above) .. the rest works very well and I think I'll keep it for good years. I was lucky for this TV. It did not cost me anything. A friend of an organization that often receives old televisions, throws them in the trash. DOnc, I arrived at the right moment and I asked him if it was to throw, his answer was a categorical YES .. so I Brought it home and since then I've been watching all my black and white movies on this TV;)

Most of my teens and early 20s involved a 19 inch BW set. This brings back lots of good memories.

Marco-nix
03-20-2017, 10:04 PM
Most of my teens and early 20s involved a 19 inch BW set. This brings back lots of good memories.

To me too ... I have other black and white RCA from 5 to 12 inches approximately .. They are put in boxes to the shelter of the light Parmit them, there in one with vacuum tubes. This one needs to be redone with regard to the capacitors and perhaps to change the tube screen as it is too dark and has been used a lot, the case is cracked but I keep it. Good night TVTim .. Ah, thank you for your message.But I wonder what is wrong so there are lines in the top of the screen :(

TVTim
03-21-2017, 08:09 PM
I am far from an expert on lines on the screen. Sure wish I could help you out with that. We have many members who are way better at this stuff than I am. I'm just here for memories and to share a hobby.

Zenith26kc20
03-21-2017, 08:55 PM
Sounds like Macrovision copy protection is your problem. It can cause lines in the picture. Do you have, or know someone with a video stabilizer? This will remove macrovision. Macrovision type protection is also on many DVDs. I have to use one on my Zenith color roundie or it goes nuts.
Your VCR is a major source of crooked top of the picture. Newer sets had a lot faster horiz sync that eliminated the problem. Panasonic had a high dollar VCR with a time base corrector but they were troublesome. It used a form of the "G" chassis with many plastic gears. Do you have a OTA box to try?

Marco-nix
03-21-2017, 10:59 PM
Sounds like Macrovision copy protection is your problem. It can cause lines in the picture. Do you have, or know someone with a video stabilizer? This will remove macrovision. Macrovision type protection is also on many DVDs. I have to use one on my Zenith color roundie or it goes nuts.
Your VCR is a major source of crooked top of the picture. Newer sets had a lot faster horiz sync that eliminated the problem. Panasonic had a high dollar VCR with a time base corrector but they were troublesome. It used a form of the "G" chassis with many plastic gears. Do you have a OTA box to try?


Hello, I'm sure you have misread my last message with the picture above which seems to be a color photo. When I make my adjustments, I use something other than a VCR .. And with regard to that, the problem is fixed. I use a Sony VCR 4 stereo heads to play my old movies in Black & White but otherwise, I use a Sony DVD for dvd. I know it's always better to use a DVD player but, ..... To reproduce my sentence above, my TV is not a color TV but a black and white TV. The only problem is the lines you see at the top of the screen. The picture that my tv has, is superb. It is only my WEB-CAM that does not do justice to the image I posted. That is all my friend. So, only the lines is his trouble to my black and white TV, For now, I can not afford to buy a camera. That's all;) Actually, I only need to know what is probably my problem that causes this kind of lines at the top of my screen. Thank you ;)

TVTim
07-07-2017, 10:06 PM
I've been wondering how you made out with this.

Is the set working well now? Are you still having issues?

Marco-nix
07-08-2017, 08:29 AM
I've been wondering how you made out with this.

Is the set working well now? Are you still having issues?



Hi Tim, thank you for your interest in this topic. The TV has always worked and always has the same problem. I put the repair aside for a while because I have other priorities for now .. but I still have the TV and I will keep it. When I have time and money, I poke a bit in. I'm not in a hurry. When I do not touch it, I put it in a box out of the dust.

When all parts of the circuitry will be changed, I will send it to a tv repairman and it will make the adjustments because I have no verification device.

TVTim
07-08-2017, 03:35 PM
I'm glad to read that the set is still being loved. The TV reminds me of better times.

Marco-nix
07-08-2017, 04:00 PM
I'm glad to read that the set is still being loved. The TV reminds me of better times.



Like me for that matter .. :yes: :thmbsp: have a nice PM TV Tim