View Full Version : HDMI to NTSC converter "NTSJ"?


Ed in Tx
12-06-2016, 05:18 PM
Not sure where to put this question. But since it involves my 22 year old Sony KV-27V10 TV I guess this is as good as any.

Need to convert HDMI from a DVR to NTSC video and audio for my old Sony. I bought a device on Amazon (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01IHASYNE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) that seemed to meet the need, but it doesn't make color the TV will sync to. I saw "NTSJ" whatever that is and thought it was probably a typo., never heard of "NTSJ". The device has several output modes, none of which work for American NTSC. Closest setting makes a picture with out of sync color and b&w bands rolling up the screen.

Anyone here know the meaning of "NTSJ_M/J/Nc" and its variations?

maxhifi
12-06-2016, 05:22 PM
Does it have an NTSC/PAL switch on it somewhere?

Mine acts like that when it's set to PAL.

Ed in Tx
12-06-2016, 05:24 PM
Yes it toggles through 6 settings, 3 PAL and 3 NTS*something* not sure if it's NTSJ or some variation of NTSC.

Ed in Tx
12-06-2016, 06:21 PM
I'm thinking now what it is I bought is "NTSC 4.43". AKA NTSC-J .They abbreviated it NTSJ making me think it was a typo. Puts out a chroma signal at 4.43 mHz rather than 3.58. On the way back to Amazon, free UPS pickup and return.

I ordered another one (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B012MDMWLM/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) that only says "PAL/NTSC" and I shall see if that one works.

lnx64
12-06-2016, 07:42 PM
Hate to give Rat Shack the pleasure, but I gotta give credit where it's due. I've been using a Rat Shack HDMI to Composite converter, and it's worked fine.

I used it on this video of mine, where my desktop had only an NTSC composite capture card, and needed to view the output of a PS3 I repaired, so I used the rat shack HDMI converter. Worked fine.

https://youtu.be/Y-tS0x-0m4E?t=58s

As for picture quality, not the best, and this will NOT downscale HD to SD, so the device still needs 480i output, but it works.

Findm-Keepm
12-06-2016, 08:59 PM
Most DVRs use HDCP to copy protect the digital signal - gotta get rid of that to go to NTSC, IIRC - the Philips Service Seminar was in 2009, and it's been a while....

You need a converter that strips the HDCP - dunno if that exists.

Ed in Tx
12-06-2016, 09:10 PM
Well, it was working, just that color was screwed up like on a different frequency. I recall a "4.43" color selection on some of the multi-standard VCRs I used to work on. Looks similar to switching from 3.58 to 4.43. We'll see what happens when I get the next one.

lnx64
12-06-2016, 11:48 PM
Most DVRs use HDCP to copy protect the digital signal - gotta get rid of that to go to NTSC, IIRC - the Philips Service Seminar was in 2009, and it's been a while....

You need a converter that strips the HDCP - dunno if that exists.
wouldn't Netflix trigger the same thing? Usually on Roku I can't use my 60" DLP with it on HDMI because it doesn't support HDCP.

But my Roku on HDMI with this RatShack adapter, does and plays Netflix just fine.

If I'm wrong please tell me so but I double checked this last night, and would be happy to film it showing Netflix at 480i composite. Weather it supports HDCP or not.

ppppenguin
12-07-2016, 03:21 AM
I understand NTSC-J as being the Japanese variant of NTSC. This doesn't have the 7.5IRE setup of standard NTSC.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTSC-J

andy
12-07-2016, 10:43 AM
HDCP shouldn't be an issue with the adapters you can buy on places like ebay, but it's a good idea to check before buying. They aren't too worried about converting HDMI to a low resolution analog signal.

Ebay is even full of inexpensive HDMI with HDCP to RGB (VGA) adapters. Those are definitely not allowed, but are still easy to find thanks to various decoder chips that must be easy to buy in China.