View Full Version : Welcome me to the forum!

loops
09-01-2016, 07:08 PM
Hi Everyone,

I want to introduce myself. I've been interested in electronics since I was young. Now, I repair electronics for fun and to save money. I don't see the point of getting rid of something that can be fixed often times for very low cost.

I don't consider myself an absolute newbie anymore - but I still do have a lot to learn.

In the past I have fixed a Macintosh LC III (motherboard and psu recap, board wash). I have also fixed a couple of tv's - a 90's zenith - which had a vertical collapse issue due to bad joints.

The other tv was a 13" magnavox - early 90's - which had slanted video on the last 1/3 of the screen - and more so when brighter colors were on the screen. The HV ended up being around 14K volts, it's rated at max 23.5K volts - so it was about half what it was supposed to be. This ended up being the fault of open caps.

It always amazes me how much more versatile analog technology is when compared to digital technology. Analog technology will keep going for a long time with huge variances in part specs, while our digital technology - well - not so much.

I recently purchased a Sencore CG 135 - which needs electrical restoration - it is my next project. It needs new caps and new resistors - they all seem way out of specification - about double the intended rating.

I am looking forward to meeting and conversing with you on these forums as I try and learn new things. I'm sure I'll have my questions along the way that hopefully those more seasoned than I might have a thought or two about.

It's great to be here. Thank you for allowing me to be a part of your community.

Username1
09-01-2016, 07:42 PM
Hi !

Well before they all welcome you to the forum.... There will be a secret vote, and they
will also come by yer house and look in the windows to make sure you don't have any
flat screen tvs...... Yikes, the last guy the caught with one hidden in the closet.....