View Full Version : Anyone know how old this RCA set is?


GeorgeHC
05-22-2016, 12:55 PM
I recently picked up this massive RCA French Provincial console, and am curious as to how old it is. I'm guessing late 1970s or early 1980s. Model # is CCD926F.

I have not seen any other RCA sets with this type of push-button channel selector before.

LovesZenith
05-22-2016, 02:48 PM
That TV looks newer than the cabinet itself. The age is right for the TV, I'd put it in between 1977-1983. It looks like someone stuffed it into a mid 1960s cabinet, probably after the set that was originally there died.

Kamakiri
05-22-2016, 03:02 PM
Is there a chassis number inside somewhere? My Sams guide doesn't list that model number at all.....weirdly enough. I was thinking 1977, but I may be wrong.

andy
05-22-2016, 03:42 PM
That's an odd one; the model isn't in Sam's. I don't recognize the control layout, or the rear control panel layout. The frosted CRT and style of knobs look early 70's. It's definitely no newer than the mid 70's, and it all looks original to me.

How about seeing it with the back off?

maxhifi
05-22-2016, 04:03 PM
Tuner and speaker grill look like a CTC39, but it says solid state. I would say very early 70s.

zeno
05-22-2016, 04:18 PM
Its a Canadian RCA so no Sams. I never saw that tuner cluster
& it screams CTC39. It will have a CTC ## inside. There was a
thread on another one of these in the last year. It may
have been Jon up in Halifax that had it. Try to search "canadian RCA"

73 Zeno:smoke:

radiotvnut
05-22-2016, 08:54 PM
I'd say it's an earlier solid state (probably one of the upright XL100 chassis variations) and it looks to have a varactor tuner. I think the tilt-out control bin had pretty much been phased out by '75.

GeorgeHC
05-22-2016, 11:05 PM
Thanks for all the input. The set looks original to the cabinet.

I found a thread on here regarding a similar RCA set (same push-button tuner) - Phil R from Quebec has one in a different cabinet. His must be an earlier version, as his has tubes. Here is the link to his thread:

http://www.videokarma.org/showthread.php?t=263459&highlight=accutouch

Anyway here are some pics of the insides of my set.

rca2000
05-22-2016, 11:08 PM
Wow !! That does NOT look like ANY RCA chassis I have EVER SEEN !!

GeorgeHC
05-22-2016, 11:12 PM
More interior pics

GeorgeHC
05-22-2016, 11:21 PM
Here's what I get when I turn it on and there is no input to tv.

Picture is compressed and has vertical banding.

When I connected a VCR and played a tape, the audio came through ok but the picture stayed pretty much the same as you see here.

Where would I start with trying to fix this?

Jeffhs
05-23-2016, 12:03 AM
I'd try putting the TV on the same channel the VCR outputs to. Most VCRs output to either channel 3 or channel 4, depending on which channel is not used in the user's area; I have never seen one that has RF output on channel 5. That's probably why you are not getting a picture, although the signal may still be strong enough to produce some sound. If you try to watch the VCR when it is set for channel 3 RF output, but the TV is set on channel 4 (or vice versa), you may not get a picture at all; if you do, it will either be negative with very poor horizontal sync or else very weak and distorted. Set the TV tuner to the same RF output channel the VCR is set to and it should work well.

zeno
05-23-2016, 08:28 AM
WOW it looks like RCA sent up modules & told them
to build the chassis for it. Never seen anything like it
but the boards & other parts look the same.
Anyhows the hoz may be running way off freq, try
the hold control 1st. IIRC its on the h. osc board & there
may be a customer control also. May also be an SCR, IIRC
one of them gave a similar problem.

BTW someone here or on AR said they got a bunch of
Canadian service manuals within the last few months.

73 Zeno

andy
05-23-2016, 12:54 PM
Apart from the layout, it looks like it's a standard XL-100 upright chassis. It probably does have SCR sweep. I'd start by cleaning the module contacts, checking the caps, and looking for bad soldering.

GeorgeHC
06-01-2016, 12:22 AM
Mystery solved... looks like it is from 1972. I found this ad from the Montreal Gazette showing the RCA AccuColor with AccuTouch tuning in various cabinet styles.

https://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=1946&dat=19720222&id=IZkuAAAAIBAJ&sjid=sqEFAAAAIBAJ&pg=4614,1799201&hl=en

zeno
06-01-2016, 08:41 AM
Only one problem. I dont see "solid state" anywhere. That
was a big deal then. We lost a LOT of sales to RCA cause
Zenith didnt have a SS 19" set yet.
Look for date codes on parts. The big filter caps almost
always had them.

73 Zeno:smoke:

Carmine
06-01-2016, 07:31 PM
It says "Solid State" on the wood grain panel that also says "RCA" (second photo in 1st post). Granted, it says it very softly. :D

Aint it amazin' that peoples is still diggin up sets that even the oldtymey folk ain't never seen? :drool:

Celt
06-02-2016, 11:43 AM
Second the 1972 comment. We had a '72 RCA XL-100 with the same tilt out control panel.

GeorgeHC
06-02-2016, 10:55 PM
I think Zeno means the 1972 Montreal Gazette RCA ad (in the link I provided above) doesn't mention "solid state", whereas my set does. In other words, my set might be newer than those in the ad if they are not solid state.

Does anyone know if this "Accutouch" push-button tuning system was only offered in Canada?
There is virtually no info or pics of it online, except for two vintage RCA ads - both from Canadian newspapers. And the only other Accutouch set I have seen on Videokarma is located in Quebec.

andy
06-03-2016, 02:11 AM
I think Zeno means the 1972 Montreal Gazette RCA ad (in the link I provided above) doesn't mention "solid state", whereas my set does. In other words, my set might be newer than those in the ad if they are not solid state.
.

If you look closely at the pictures in the ad, you can see where it says "solid state" on the control panel. You can't make out the words, but the size and location of the printing on the control panel matches your set. The ad doesn't have much technical information in the descriptions, so it's not surprising they didn't mention that it was solid state.

zeno
06-03-2016, 08:54 AM
IIRC the US sets said accucolor for the auto color switch.
Accutouch may refer to the push button tuning.
Most interesting thing about the set is that it is NOT
laid out at all like a US RCA inside. Looks like the
same parts though. That may have been some government
mandate for Canadian content like with radio music etc.
No sense in making the chassis different, that wastes lots
of $$$. Zenith never did, they just made them, used Can specs
for safety etc, marked them such & sold them. IIRC some
were marked with both Can & US approvals.

73 Zeno:smoke: