View Full Version : My 1983 Zenith 13" portable


TUD1
03-30-2016, 04:40 PM
I've had this TV for many years. I got it at a thrift at least six or seven years ago, and today, I decided to unearth it and put it back in service. This TV is not nearly as heavy as the 1976 CCII.

Electronic M
03-30-2016, 04:50 PM
I've got the knob tuned version in gray, and seen a varactor continuous tuned version. It is a 9-160 set.

TUD1
03-30-2016, 05:45 PM
I'm having a very annoying problem with this set right now. It refuses to pick up the channel 16 UHF signal from my Blonder Tongue agile modulator. I have a UHF antenna installed and all my other TV's are fine.

MRX37
03-30-2016, 07:10 PM
Looks like it's picking up something. those waves... RF interference?

TUD1
03-30-2016, 07:22 PM
No, the 1976 Zenith worked fine when it sat there.

dieseljeep
03-30-2016, 09:29 PM
I've got the knob tuned version in gray, and seen a varactor continuous tuned version. It is a 9-160 set.

The 1983 model is not a 9-160 set. It's too new and it uses a large main board and a separate smaller HV and PS module.

dieseljeep
03-30-2016, 09:34 PM
I'm having a very annoying problem with this set right now. It refuses to pick up the channel 16 UHF signal from my Blonder Tongue agile modulator. I have a UHF antenna installed and all my other TV's are fine.

The set looks like a remote set. Check to see if the band selector switch is in the proper position. If set in the cable position, it disables the UHF tuner.

TUD1
03-30-2016, 09:37 PM
I already checked all that. They're all in the normal/UHF mode.

radiotvnut
03-31-2016, 12:33 AM
Probably uses a 9-181 signal module and a 9-186 HV/sweep module. I have the knob-tuned version and they are good sets. They are indeed a lot lighter than the older CCII sets because these don't have a power transformer and there is no metal chassis in the newer sets.

Electronic M
03-31-2016, 02:30 AM
The 1983 model is not a 9-160 set. It's too new and it uses a large main board and a separate smaller HV and PS module.
Mine is a 9-160 set (I had the 9-160 board out of it for a transplant experiment a few days ago), but probably is a few years older. Mine looks identical to the OP's, but is knob tuned and lacks wood grain....They must have kept the cabinet design around a while.

zeno
03-31-2016, 10:35 AM
9-160 based 13" sets started in L-line late 1979
its the 1980 model year. Used M & N line also. May have
spilt over to Y line but dont remember.
O-X are skipped over, any sets in that range are house
sets & not part of the regular line.

9-181 sets came in Y-line 1983 model year.
Again there may have been spill over.

If the AFC is in normal & the band switch is in air it should work.
You could also try it in special, that gives wider range
& longer search time for the AFC. Also try a VCR & see
if ch 3 is working.

If a 9-160 set on the 9-160 there is a little transistor called
32 V current source that will do this. Then look for PC cons
in the tuner area that is part of the 9-151 board.

On 9-181 sets tuner is separate. A little taping around may find
the problem.

73 Zeno:smoke:

radiotvnut
03-31-2016, 11:25 AM
I think I've only seen one 9-160 set that was made in '83 and it was a System 3 25" console. I've seen plenty of 9-181 sets that were made in '82 for the '83 model year.

wa2ise
03-31-2016, 01:50 PM
http://www.videokarma.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=190506&d=1459374333
Does it receive a good channel on say channel 3 or 4? If so, I've seen sets that won't lock onto a channel if you turn the set on first and then the channel "transmitter".

Maybe the set's PLL circuit needs a tweak.

TUD1
04-02-2016, 10:53 PM
By pressing Enter and using the channel buttons to fine tune, I can tune in channel 16. But when turned off, it resets and you have to do it all over again. What gives?