View Full Version : 7jp4 bk 440 testing

timmy
01-02-2016, 01:44 PM
I'm testing known tubes on a bk 440 which is not for these crts and the good ones do show hi and I can remove shorts. I have one tube that does work but seem to get dim from what it used to be and this was only using it to repair a set so it since got dim fast but testing this one it shows a short on the HK light is there a way to remove this short since I tried with the short remover on the tester but does not seem to remove it. This was a good tube and if it will come back if I can remove the short it would be good. How would I attempt to remove this short, would this be a charged cap discharging on certain pins, I don't know.

baursam
01-02-2016, 02:58 PM
I'm no expert but don't think there is much you can do about it. here's what shows n the manual for my sencore Cr70 regarding H K shorts
H-K Shorts
This test determines if a leakage path exists between the filament (heater) and the
cathode. A short or leakage between the heater and cathode cannot be removed with
the remove-shorts function of the CR70 or any other CRT restoring system because
the current needed to remove a short of this type would also open the filament,
resulting in a completely dead CRT. An isolation-type CRT booster will isolate these
shorts in circuits using 60 Hz filament power. Isolation transformers are not
available for CRTs powered from the horizontal output transformer (scan-derived
power) because the power signal has an operating frequency of 15 KHz. In such
cases, the CRT will have to be replaced if the H-K short causes unacceptable results.
To test for H-K Shorts:
1. Move the FUNCTION switch to the H-K SHORTS position.
2. Read the results on the GOOD/BAD meter scale.
3. If there is an H-K short, you may continue with the rest of the tests, but they may
not have meaning if the short is responsible for the poor image on the CRT

timmy
01-02-2016, 03:09 PM